Sealed With a Promise

A promise is a promise. No matter what. I’d like to say I’ve always kept promises. I can’t. I can think of only twice in my life I’ve broken a promise. There are exceptions when a promise would hurt rather than help the one you’ve vowed to deliver your word. Not only would the promise hurt the receiver, but could alter their lives. I don’t want to be responsible for life-altering decisions in others. Both times I broke a promise, the other party hadn’t failed to thank me. Phew! That was a relief. Believe me. I’m extremely careful now when I give my word.

The heroine in my next book wrestles  with such a promise. Her situation isn’t, nor has it ever been mine, but I believe many of our traits, thoughts  and beliefs hit the page. We may not like it, but where else do our words come from? Our inner selves. Things we’ve experienced or would like to experience. Things we wish we’d never experienced.

We can make all the Bucket lists all we want, but unless we act on them, we may as well light a fire with the paper. Probably get more from the paper’s warmth than holding onto dreams we have no intention of building on.

Building dreams and confidence that we can reach for those dreams, are promises we can make ourselves. Those we should keep unless circumstances beyond our control keep us from them.

Because promises matter.

Here’s a blurb of my next novel.

After nine years of being estranged from her father, Megan Phillips now faces the second most difficult time in her life. The man who hurt her the most, has summoned her back to Vail, Colorado, her childhood home. Even in death, her father dishes out the last word. One thing she knows for sure is, she won’t allow her father to dictate her future from the grave.

Either Megan secure responsibility for Adam, a seven-year-old brother she hadn’t known existed, or she loses a vast inheritance. Megan wants nothing from her father, and refuses the inheritance. But, her father’s love child has nothing to do with the rift between her and her father. She won’t abandon Adam without placing him with family or in a good home. Unable to locate the mother and after finding out the boy’s grandparents are only after Adam’s inheritance, her search ends. Megan’s life is altered in ways she never dreamed.

Then, there’s her father’s lawyer, the hunky Bret Evans. A bachelor, all business, Bret is married to his law practice. Love and a family of his own is far down the ladder of achievements. Megan, the woman who catches his eye from the start, could be the one who removes a few rungs in his ladder.

Whatever will Megan do with a man who makes her forget she never wanted children, a family? The man who takes her breath away.

Hidden in the shadows and bent on revenge, is a man Megan helped put away for abusing his children. Now it’s payback time.

My books are available at Barnes & Noble, Amazon, Kobo, Sony, Diesel, Apple and Smashwords.

You can find links on my website, here. http://caroldevaney.weebly.com/my-books.

About Carol

Carol falls in love with every character she writes in her books. She loves basing them on the good and the bad personalities that make up life. That's what makes them real. Carol feels as though she’s in a movie when visualizing characters and she jumps right onto the page with them. Often the theme of her books is forgiveness. Whether planned or not, forgiveness sneaks its way into her stories. That's okay, because Carol believes forgiving others is essential. She favors a great story, with slices of twists that cause her to reflect on the problems life throws at us and how we react. Carol believes in happy endings. Humor is a big part of her stories and daily routine, and yes, she laughs a lot! Travel is one of her favorite things to do. She dabbles in art, always has popcorn and hot chocolate on hand. Carol is a small-town girl at heart and her stories are peppered with a dose of humor, based on Southern roots. She currently resides in Georgia with her husband and family.
This entry was posted in Carol's Posts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Sealed With a Promise

  1. Jill James says:

    Carol, promises are very important things. I’ve always believe you better have a darn good reason to break one.

    Like

  2. Carol says:

    Me too, Jill! Life or death situation. We lose trust if we don’t keep promises.

    Like

  3. E. Ayers says:

    Oh, I love the storyline! Greed motivates a lot of people.
    Somehow your heroines are always suckered by a child. I think they get it from the author. One little sad face and you are right there to dole out hugs, cookies, and lots of love!

    Like

  4. monarisk says:

    Interesting theme. And a great blurb.

    Like

  5. Carol says:

    Thank you, Mona. I’m glad to hear the blurb makes sense! 🙂

    Like

  6. I can keep secrets. I don’t think anyone has given me a promise to keep. Interesting thought.

    Like

  7. Carol says:

    I have held secrets going back to grade school! I’m sure everyone else does too. 🙂

    Like

  8. Joan Reeves says:

    The book sounds like my cup of tea, Carol. Looking forward to reading it.

    Like

  9. leighmorgan1 says:

    What an great premise. Your book sounds like an emotional read!

    Like

Please Leave a Reply

