My Favourite Christmas Book – Susan R. Hughes

As much as I adore classics like A Christmas Carol (and holiday romances as well!), my HowtheGrinchStoleChristmasall-time favourite Christmas book has to be How the Grinch Stole Christmas! by Dr. Seuss. Like Scrooge, the curmudgeonly Grinch has become a symbol of the transformative power of the Christmas spirit. Since it was first published in 1957, it’s been an essential traditional holiday read for generations of children (and adults). I read it to my oldest daughter so many times in years past, I almost had it memorized.

My affection for the story began in my childhood, when everything about Christmas was magical. The Grinch hated everything I loved about the holiday – the presents, the food, the decorations. But like any good villain, he had a certain charm; there was a mischievous appeal to his evil plotting, and Dr. Seuss’ unique poetic style made the story enchanting and memorable.

GrinchBookSS03The book’s message is a simple one, reminding us that “Maybe Christmas doesn’t come from a store. Maybe Christmas… perhaps… means a little bit more!” During a season when it’s easy to get caught up in stockpiling presents, the Grinch reminds us that spreading cheer among family and friends is what really matters.

What’s your favourite Christmas book?

About susanrhughes

Susan R. Hughes is a USA Today bestselling author of contemporary and historical romance. She lives in Ottawa, Ontario, with her husband and three children.
This entry was posted in Susan's Posts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to My Favourite Christmas Book – Susan R. Hughes

  1. Joan Reeves says:

    Susan, your favorite is shared by so many. This was my younger brother’s favorite. When he announced that he was going to be a father, I sent him a copy of the book before his son was born. I think that was his favorite baby gift. *g* He read it every Christmas to his son who is now grown. Happy Holidays.

    Like

  2. E. Ayers says:

    I love all things Seuss! Take away all the “trappings” of Christmas and it’s still Christmas. And maybe that’s the best part of Christmas.

    Like

  3. monarisk says:

    Susan, the mean Grinch was right somehow. Christmas is not about decorations and presents, but about love and sharing.

    Like

  4. leighmorgan1 says:

    Great pick for best book! Gotta love the good doctor! 🙂

    Like

  5. Christmas means so much more than gifts. I love to give and could care less if I receive. I’ts all about love and making others happy. Love the Grinch character.

    Like

  6. stephaniequeen says:

    The Grinch is such a classic–now. I remember back in the days when it was new and the cartoon movie came out! Loved it! Thanks for the thoughts and memories, Susan!

    Like

Please Leave a Reply

