Sugar Plum Fairies Dancing in My Head – Stephanie Queen

Sugar plumsI’m not sure what a sugar plum is, but if they dance in people’s heads this time of year that would explain a few things. It’s the day before Christmas and I’ve been feeling a little crazy–well maybe not crazy. (Although Myren my chauffeur has been insisting that I must be crazy with increasing frequency lately.) Maybe I’m feeling a little odd. No. Odd isn’t the right word. How about out of sorts?

Let me give you an example. kmart blue light

The other night I had an irresistible urge to finally find out what a blue light special at KMart is all about. At midnight. And Saturday we went to the mall and I was totally undaunted by the fact that the only parking space  Myren could find was at the Sears Auto Center. I said, “Myren, since we’re here, have them throw some flashing lights on the sleigh–I mean car.” (That was one of those times Myren referred to me as crazy.) Do you think this suggestion was a little odd or merely out of sorts?

Scrawny treeThen there’s the fact that I have that giant dead evergreen tree standing in the middle of my house–except it’s not so green anymore. On the bright side, my floor is carpeted in lovely greenish needles and the place smells like a forest.

Is this normal behavior?

Let me rephrase that–is this sane behavior? After all, maybe a lot of us go a little crazy at Christmas time. Let’s call it the Sugar Plum Effect. Since we’re all doing it, it must be normal. Even Myren has taken to wearing ties with flashing lights. But that’s okay. I have my special holiday sunglasses at the ready.

A pair in my Holiday Sunglasses Collection (displayed on a manequin head of course)

Remember these?

The day before Christmas and all through my house, quiet sane people have turned into giddy children and can’t wait for a fat man in red to climb down our chimney.

I love this season and wish you all whatever your sugar plum-addled heads dream about all year long to come true on this night.

Merry Christmas!

This entry was posted in Stephanie's Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Sugar Plum Fairies Dancing in My Head – Stephanie Queen

  1. stephaniequeen says:

    Have a very Merry Christmas everyone! SQ  

    Like

  2. Tori Scott says:

    LOL. I think crazy is normal from Thanksgiving through New Year’s. Looking forward to 2013. Merry Christmas!

    Like

  3. Jill James says:

    I’ve been a little sugar plum-addled the past few days. We had some early guests, some just before Christmas guests, and tomorrow we get the rest. We will be 18 tomorrow for Christmas dinner.

    Like

  4. E. Ayers says:

    I had my family Christmas on Saturday since my one daughter is working Christmas Eve and Christmas. But tonight I go to a friend’s big Christmas Eve open house and I’ll have another Christmas dinner with a friend and her sons. So I’ve managed to spread the madness out. Then this coming weekend, I’m getting company. Must clean house!

    Clean? This house? Can’t I just toss tinsel on the cobwebs and call it decorations? My friend is coming to help me clean all 3,000 sq ft of old house on Thursday. Oh my! I know the fate of Emily and Charlotte, my “pet” spiders. Yes, I have a problem killing anything that lives. So there’s a bit of a panic in me, but since I won’t have to be the one to do the deed, I’ll sleep with a clear conscience.

    But today (Christmas Eve) is a birthday for my youngest four-legged daughter. So Sugar Plum madness is year round as I named her Sugarplum. Well, what else do you call a sweet baby who was born on Christmas Eve? She’s my tiny, white dust mop of a dog who lives with me.

    May I borrow Myren? I really could use him. Sometimes I need a man around this house. You know, for killing spiders, and other such manly jobs.

    Like

  5. Carol says:

    Stephanie, I hope life has slowed down a bit and your Christmas was normal. Wonderful! As Tori says, crazy is normal for these holidays.

    Like

  6. leighmorgan1 says:

    Stephanie, you have the coolest glasses…and I’d love to meet your chauffeur. Hope the rest of the season brings you joy.

    Like

Please Leave a Reply

