The Day After

Christmas, 2012 is a sweet memory now. The holidays were hectic this year, but as always everything came together and on time. I’m forever amazed when this happens. The tree is still up and I’ll hear my husband tomorrow asking when we’re going to take it down. When my son was small we left the tree up until New Years. I can’t imagine that now.

My family is my biggest blessing and I’m grateful for each one. My grandson was excited to find out I’d made Chicken and Dumplings! For an eleven year old, he has a huge appetite. He ate, but ate fast. ‘Course he wanted to get to the most important event of Christmas Eve and that was the opening of gifts. He loves gathering everyone’s gifts, then getting to open his. It’s a magical few minutes.

After so many people asked for my Southern Potato Salad recipe, I managed to get a recipe together. I don’t use a recipe, I throw everything together, so that was quite a task to pull ingredients together.

I thought I’d share the recipe, so here you go. Enjoy! I’d love to see your favorite recipe!

Southern Potato Salad

Feeds approximately 20

10 lbs. Red Potatoes (large ones are okay to use) diced

1 very large Red Onion (or 2 Med.) Diced small (Buy an extra- small onion, in case you need more.)

4 large stalks celery (including tops) Slice thinly or you can dice very small

2 jars cubed dill pickles (Not sweet) (can use dill relish, but not as tasty) Drain well

3 or tbsp. salt

4 level tbsp. mustard

5 or 6 large boiled eggs (separate yolks from whites after boiling) (chop whites) (mash yolks into about two or three heaping tbsp. of mayo until smooth) Refrigerate to cool.

About 4 cups mayo. You may need more mayo, depends on how dry the mix is once you fold into potatoes, celery, onion and pickles.

(I use Hellman’s and believe it makes a difference in the taste. You don’t want a thin or sweet mayo.)

Step 1: After peeling potatoes, cover with water, add 3 or 4 tbsp. salt. Bring to a boil, turn down to low to simmer for about 15 or 20 min. Check potato with fork, if getting soft, take off heat and drain. Do not rinse. In a 2 gal. bowl, refrigerate to cool. Takes about 30 minutes or so. If some are a little warm, that’s okay. Fold potatoes over a couple of  times with extra large spoon to help cool. Do not stir. They will be too much like mashed potatoes. You can still use, but won’t have the potato texture.

Step 2:  While potatoes are cooking, boil eggs, peel and separate whites from yolks. Dice or chop egg whites. Mash yolks into about 2 or 3 heaping tbsp. of mayo until smooth. (Like you would for deviled eggs) Stir in 3 or 4 level tsp. mustard into mixture. In bowl, mix 4 cups mayo with the mustard mix, add egg yolks, then fold in egg whites. Refrigerate.

Step 3: Drain 2 jars cubed Dill Pickles. Dice onions, and celery. Add all ingredients to mayo and mustard mixture. Refrigerate.

Step 4: After potatoes are cooled, remove from refrigerator. Using a spatula to get all the mixture from bowl, fold in mayo mixture to potatoes. Do not stir too hard, you’ll have mashed potato salad.

If you’re going to add more salt, add it to the mayo mix, so you won’t need to stir potatoes more than necessary. Do not add more than a tbsp. of salt to mayo, it’s salty, plus the pickles are salty. Add more to taste though, if needed.

To each of you, I hope your Christmas was Merry and all you ever dreamed of. May the New Year bring joy, blessings and prosperity into your lives.

I wish you love, butterflies and music

About Carol

Carol falls in love with every character she writes in her books. She loves basing them on the good and the bad personalities that make up life. That's what makes them real. Carol feels as though she’s in a movie when visualizing characters and she jumps right onto the page with them. Often the theme of her books is forgiveness. Whether planned or not, forgiveness sneaks its way into her stories. That's okay, because Carol believes forgiving others is essential. She favors a great story, with slices of twists that cause her to reflect on the problems life throws at us and how we react. Carol believes in happy endings. Humor is a big part of her stories and daily routine, and yes, she laughs a lot! Travel is one of her favorite things to do. She dabbles in art, always has popcorn and hot chocolate on hand. Carol is a small-town girl at heart and her stories are peppered with a dose of humor, based on Southern roots. She currently resides in Georgia with her husband and family.
This entry was posted in Carol's Posts and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to The Day After

  1. stephaniequeen says:

    Thanks for sharing your Christmas highlights, Carol! I can’t wait for grandkids to make my Christmas mornings even more exciting than they are now! My sons are in their twenties and are somewhat less exuberant than they were at eleven!
    Stephanie Queen

    Like

    • Carol says:

      Hey, Stephanie. Christmas will never be the same after you have grandkids! And you’re right, exciting days are ahead of you. 🙂 Yeah. When your children are age twenty-something, you don’t get all those hugs and kisses. Most of the time. 🙂

      Like

  2. E. Ayers says:

    Oh yummy, another recipe! And finding recipes for large crowds or to take as a covered dish isn’t always easy.
    Glad you had a magical Christmas, even if it lasted for a few short hours. I know you’ve had more on your plate than most people, so I’m thrilled to hear you had a wonderful visit with the grandson and family.

    Like

    • Carol says:

      Thank you so much, E. I appreciate your kindness. I made it through by the skin of my teeth. 🙂 I hope you enjoy the potato salad. It’s really tasty. It is hard to find a recipe that feeds so many, I make tons of huge quantities. I made enough chicken/dumplings and dressing for 20 also. My freezer is nicely stocked. Saves cooking some nights. Love that. I make vegetable/beef soup, chicken soup and chili for large crowds-and my freezer. There again, no recipe. Throw everything in the pot and cook’er up. 🙂 I hope your Christmas was wonderful. Much love.

      Like

  3. Jill James says:

    Great recipe. I tried a new scalloped potatoes recipe that didn’t turn out. I think I had too many potatoes so they didn’t all get done and some were too crunchy. LOl

    Like

    • Carol says:

      Oh, do I love scalloped potatoes! Maybe more milk and cook a bit longer. It’s disappointing when a recipe doesn’t work out. Hope your Christmas was great! 🙂

      Like

  4. Red potatoes are just so much better in everything, I think I am going to try your recipe this weekend. Sounds yummy! Merry Christmas Carol and the rest of the gang!

    Like

    • Carol says:

      Kelly, I hope the recipe works! Like I added, you may need to add more mayo. Depends. Some people like to add everything while the potatoes are warm. I do that sometimes. Just need to not make mashed potato salad. LOL Enjoy. Hope your Christmas was blessed! 🙂

      Like

  5. Mona Risk says:

    Carol, so glad you had a wonderful Christmas with your family. I did too, with four grandchildren playing, laughing, screaming. Lovely.

    Like

  6. Carol says:

    Grandchildren make the holiday so much more enjoyable. Messes and all. LOL. Glad your Christmas was so enjoyable! Children’s laughter is music to the ear. 🙂

    Like

  7. leighmorgan1 says:

    Thanks for the recipe, I always appreciate good food, especially when it involves potatoes! It sounds like you had a wonderful holiday with your family. I can’t imagine taking the tree down before New Years Day, but we don’t get it up until just before Christmas so that makes a difference. Hope the rest of the season is full of joy for you and your family.

    Like

Please Leave a Reply

