New Year’s Resolutions

New Year Resolution

A New Year’s resolution is a commitment that a person makes to one or more personal goals, projects, or the reforming of a habit. A key element to a New Year’s resolution that sets it apart from other resolutions is that it is made in anticipation of the New Year and new beginnings. People committing themselves to a New Year’s resolution generally plan to do so for the whole following year. This lifestyle change is generally interpreted as advantageous. ~ Wikipedia

It’s that time of the year again.  Making resolutions.  Here are mine:

Write daily.  Finish what I write.  Edit.  Hire editors.  Hire book cover designers.  Format.  Upload new books.  Lose weight.  Read daily.  Read craft on writing.  Exercise daily for 20 minutes or more.  Follow cleaning house schedule.  Lose weight.  Do something new and different every week.  Learn my computer.  Draw.  Photograph.  Create.  Rewrite my bucket list.  Add to bucket list.  Follow up on bucket list.  Lose weight.  Slap a smile on even if it’s hard.  Don’t complain.  Utilize joy in my life.  Be the dog.  Be the dog.  Lose weight.  Be the dog.

I have to explain “be the dog”…

I received one of those emails that told a story about a man coming home from work.  As he stopped his car in the driveway, he could see his children playing in the yard.  They ignored him.  His wife was in the living room and looked out and saw him, and ignored him.  The dog heard his car, came rushing out, jumping up and down on the side of the car until the man stepped out and then couldn’t wag his tail enough to show his pleasure at seeing his master.  He was being a dog.

Shouldn’t we ‘be the dog’ to those we love?  Anyway, after reading this, I decided to ‘be the dog’ and went into the kitchen.  My grandson was standing there with his back to me, so I threw my arms around him and said, “I’m so glad you’re here.”

I couldn’t have done that at a better time in his life.  He needed a hug.  He needed to be ‘loved’ at that moment.  He needed someone on his side.

So ‘being the dog’ is part of the resolution.

I went to “Wordle” and made a tag cloud with all my resolutions, but am clueless on how to post it here without it looking tiny and fuzzy, as it looked horrible.  They need to fix that.  I can see it clear and big on their site, but can’t copy it to post here.  Their htlm doesn’t allow me to increase the size without being a fuzzy copy.  So disappointing.  I tried a few other sites, but wasn’t happy with any of them.

I added, ‘learn my computer’ to my resolutions.  LOL

 

 

.

About Pepper Phillips

Writer of Sassy Southern Romance Novels
This entry was posted in Pepper's Posts. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to New Year’s Resolutions

  1. Jill James says:

    I used to do New Year’s resolutions all the time. They lasted until February. LOL So now I do goals. Same thing but I guess I see them differently now.

    Like

  2. Tori Scott says:

    Love that “be the dog” idea. After Blue passed away, most of my depression came from knowing no one would ever love me as much as that dog did. Will try to incorporate that into my new year’s resolutions.

    Like

  3. I love “be the dog”. It’s something I will remember. Happy New Year to you!

    Like

  4. monarisk says:

    Pepper, I love that ‘be the dog.’ I write my resolutions every year on an index card that I keep next to my keyboard so I can check it often. I achieve some of them sometimes. So today, I have to write my resolutions, usually not more that 5 easy ones that I can maintain, such as email my son and daughter every day; exercise daily, even for 15 minutes only; write every day, even if only 200 words. A Ph.D. in psychology told us once that it takes 21 days to build good habits, so my reslutions are geared toward building good habits.

    Like

  5. leighmorgan1 says:

    Be the dog…what a wonderful way to begin the new year! Thanks for that 🙂 Og Maidne…here’s to the New Morning! Happy New Year, Pepper. May it bring joy and every happiness.

    Like

  6. I was the dog today…er, that would be yesterday. Spent the day with the people I love the most, my family. Cooked, went to a movie with grandkids, a perfect way to spend the day.

    May everyone have a fantastic new year!!!

    Like

  7. E. Ayers says:

    Yes, be the dog!

    Like

  8. Carol says:

    Pepper, I didn’t think what I was doing was Being the Dog from Friday until late tonight. But…Being the Dog felt pretty darn good! Good luck with your resolutions. I now have a short goal list after many years of not sticking to my resolutions. 🙂 Great post.

    Like

Please Leave a Reply

