What I Love About Cowboys

I love writing about cowboys. Why? Because cowboys live by a code of honor. They are raised to work hard, be polite, and to take care of their families. Sure, there are those that call themselves cowboys who don’t adhere to the cowboy code, but to me they aren’t the real thing.

Blue Moon over Texas

Jake Reilly                                        Blue Moon over Texas

I was born in Lubbock, Texas. My parents grew up picking cotton, working in the fields from dawn to dusk on the days they weren’t in school. It was a hard life, but my grandparents were no nonsense people who worked hard themselves and taught their children well. My dad gave me an example to look up to and a yardstick by which I could measure any future potential husbands. He was a gentleman, a good provider, and a strong but quiet man who loved his family though he rarely actually said so.

When I met my husband, I saw those same strong, quiet qualities in him and I was instantly hooked. That’s how it is for my heroines, too. They see what they want and they’ll fight–sometimes themselves–to get it. They want a man who has values, a man who knows God is an important part of his life though he doesn’t speak of it often. They want a man who will love them, and only them, for the rest of their lives. A man who won’t be tempted to stray, or to leave them alone for any reason other than death.

In my Lone Star Cowboys series, I tried to infuse my heroes with the cowboy code, to make them men any woman would be proud to call their own. They work hard, they live by the code, and they would die to protect their families. They’re quick to offer a helping hand to their neighbors while reluctant to be on the receiving end. It would never occur to them to live off a government handout. That just isn’t done.

They are kind to kids and animals, and would never raise a hand in anger unless to someone trying to hurt someone they love. They know how to ride a horse and shoot a gun, pull a calf or build a barn. They are strong enough to fight a brush fire, smart enough to manage a ranch, and inventive enough to figure out how to earn a living miles from the nearest town.

And after thinking about these things, I realize these are qualities I saw in my father and uncles, and ones I see in my husband and my cousins. (At least the ones who still live on and work the land.) No, they aren’t perfect, but they are honorable men and to me that makes them worthy of being called a cowboy.

I’ve never been particularly attracted to a man in a suit. Give me a pair of snug Wranglers, some dusty boots, and a hand-tooled leather belt any day.

So what kind of man attracts you? Do you find that you read books about those kinds of men? If you’re a writer, do you tend to write about a certain type of hero? Cowboy or tycoon? Which would you choose?

In my upcoming release, The Bluest Eyes in Texas, I continue the Lone Star Cowboys series with Nancy (Megan and Carol’s friend) and Cooper Saunders, a professional bull rider who is being forced into retirement due to injuries. The rodeo is all Cooper has known since he was in high school and he’s feeling a bit lost. Nancy helps him find his way and gives him a reason to keep going. And together they help a critically injured little girl get back on her feet.  Look for The Bluest Eyes in Texas sometime in February. You can check out my book list at http://amzn.com/e/B004FVIOG2 .

Cooper Saunders

Cooper Saunders                            The Bluest Eyes in Texas

About Tori Scott

Author, former Golden Heart finalist, published by Red Sage, in Woman's World, and selected news media. I live near Dallas Texas and write sexy romantic comedy, contemporary small-town romance, and romantic suspense.
This entry was posted in Tori's Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to What I Love About Cowboys

  1. stephaniequeen says:

    Tori, you make a VERY compelling argument for cowboys! I’ve barely set foot in Texas and never met a man who worked a ranch, but it sounds like I should add it to my list!

    Like

  2. bellastreet says:

    What’s not to love? Great post 🙂

    Like

  3. E. Ayers says:

    The American cowboy (or farm boy) are a special breed. You can knock the dirt off of them, put them in a suit, and they will still be a cowboy. The other thing about cowboys is they don’t look like body builders. They get those muscles naturally from climbing in and out of the tractor, picking up bales, and in general busting their rear ends to make a living. And most of them grow old with a set of abs that would make a young suit green with envy. Cowboys don’t wear skinny jeans. They couldn’t get their muscled legs into them if they tried, and they wouldn’t try. They are tough as nails and gentle giants. They know right from wrong, and will stand up for what is right. They are three percent of this nation, own most of the land, and they feed the world. There’s nothing like a strong set of shoulders, and a well-packed pair of jeans.

    Like

  4. I was born and raised in the Dallas area, and even though I grew up in the suburbs, I knew those kinds of men, starting with my dad. They’re my favorite heroes in fiction (and in life!) Thanks for continuing to write about them.

    Like

  5. Ah, yes, cowboys. What can I say? The ones you picked here are easy on the eyes and luscious. Mm, yes, cowboys. Love the title of your upcoming book, too. Will keep an eye out.

    Like

  6. Jill James says:

    Tori, you almost make me wish I read westerns.About the only books I’ve read with cowboys have been time-travel romances. I love watching the heroine try to figure out this old-fashioned man. True cowboys do almost appear old-fashioned. Unfortunately, in our world, the traits that make a cowboy great seem as if from a bygone era.

    Like

  7. norahwilson says:

    My range of potential heroes is very wide , but there’s definitely a soft spot there for a cowboy. I grew up in a Maritime province, and the closest we came were farmers, minus the horses. But I could (and still do!) look to fiction for some awesome cowboy heroes!
    Can’t wait for your new story, Tori!

    Like

  8. Tori Scott says:

    Jill, you should give them a try! Mine are contemporary romances with cowboys for heroes. E. Ayers writes some too. So much to love. E., exactly! Thanks Norah, Bella, and Mary! Sandra, I lived in Richardson from age 10-18. You’d think I’d have grown up loving the suit-wearing types, but nope, that West Texas red dirt stained my soul at an early age. Stephanie, you should definitely add a cowboy to your list. 🙂

    Like

  9. Carol says:

    Cowboys are the salt of the earth. As are country boys! Can’t wait to read your next book, Tori Great post. 🙂

    Like

  10. susanrhughes says:

    Right now I’m pretty attracted to the men pictured in your post! But as a city girl, it’s not the kind of guy I tend to run into. Wouldn’t mind, though!

    Like

  11. leighmorgan1 says:

    Tori, I love men who live by a code. No matter what the code is, they know who they are, and they Respect, themselves and those they serve, whether service is to their family, country or boss. Hard not to love a cowboy.

    Like

Please Leave a Reply

