New Experiences

I used to be the most timid person I knew. I went with safe, comfortable, secure. Sure, there were some adventures in there, but not on purpose. I would get invited to the adventure and I might go. I don’t know why I was that way. I always had fun once I was there, but I didn’t seek it out. Until writing for publication came along.

For the first time I was willing to take the leap. I joined RWA (Romance Writers of America), I joined an online chapter, then I really leaped; and co-founded our own local chapter. (Black Diamonds) For the first time in my life I was going for it. I was believing I could write something that someone other than me would like to read. I was meeting strangers and having them become friends. Then, self-publishing came along.

There was a handful of people before me to see how it was done. New terms scared me to death; formatting, self-editing, cover design, marketing, do-it-yourself. But, I knew I had to go for it. Trying to get traditionally published was not working. When someone says; “Your writing is brilliant, your story is wonderful, but I can’t sell this” there is something wrong with the system. I love RWA and I love the people and I love belonging, but it was time to spread my wings a littler further. Then I had some self-published titles to my name and realized I could go to Romantic Times. Another leap of faith was required.

stack_of_booksI needed to believe that strangers could walk up to me and want my books. I needed to stretch my social skills to meet all new people without the umbrella of RWA. Not sure how it will turn out, but I’ve registered and we shall see come May 2013 in Kansas City, Missouri. Hope to see you there.

 

Jill James, author of The Lake Willowbee Series, Books 1 – 3.

About Jill James

Jill is a published author with The Wild Rose Press and self-published with The Lake Willowbee Series. She enjoys reading just as much as writing. You can follow her on Facebook http://www.facebook.com/Jill.James.author and Twitter @jill_james
This entry was posted in Jill's Posts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to New Experiences

  1. Jill, you’re going to have a great time at RT. Just keep following your dreams and working hard and believe in yourself. You’re doing great! 😀

    Like

  2. How exciting, I am working my way up to feeling confident enough to go to one of these events, too! I was thinking of trying RomCom in Colorado this summer! You may have just inspired me to go for it! 🙂

    Like

  3. E. Ayers says:

    I had to laugh at your comments about not seeking adventure. I know those feelings. I’m more comfortable hiding in my house and sitting at my computer. But leaving our comfort zones and facing the world as authors is part of the whole package. You’re one of those tech-savvy people, and without you this blog wouldn’t exist! You’re also sweet with a big welcoming smile. You’re going to do great. Just take a couple of deep breaths and do it!

    Maybe that sexy alpha male you married brings enough adventure into your life that you don’t need to seek additional stimulation! But RT is different because this is your turf and you know it. I’ll make bets that macho hubby would quiver in his shoes if he had to go to RT and do it. You’ve been wearing those author shoes for a while and you know how to walk in them. So go have fun and we want to hear all about it when you get back!

    Like

    • Jill James says:

      E., Wow! Can I tape those inspirational comments? 🙂 Yes, my alpha male is quite a bit of adventure in my life. I’m really looking forward to RT and I will post a blog post when I get back, all about it.

      Like

  4. Tori Scott says:

    I’m stretching myself a bit this year by riding on the back of hubby’s Harley (scares me to death) and getting out and riding a bicycle ( so out of shape I’m always afraid I might not be able to make it back home.) Writing wise, I’m wrestling with trying to figure out Create Space (not having much luck) so I can get my books into print. After that, I’ll tackle audio books.

    Like

  5. John Wayne is quoted as saying: “Courage is being scared to death, but saddling up anyway.” Congratulations on doing just that!

    Like

  6. Carol says:

    Jill, once you rebelled against your timidnes, you took the bull by the horns, girl! Way to go. Enjoy the conference and write us up something interesting when you return. 🙂

    Like

  7. leighmorgan1 says:

    I wish I could love this as a blogger…like just isn’t enough. You captured the fear and the euphoria of taking control perfectly. “I love it, but I can’t sell it,” isn’t good enough anymore and it’s well past time that choice entered the market. Hey, if you’re going to RT, please come and see my presentation. I’d love to see you there!

    Like

  8. monarisk says:

    Hi Jill, I’m sure you’ll have fun at RT. I went twice and really enjoyed it. It’s much more fun and less intimidating than RWA National.

    Like

  9. stephaniequeen says:

    You are brave, Jill! I’m dying to go to RT, but I’m too much of a scaredy-cat to go yet. (I think I may be having shoe envy…) (half-kidding)

    Like

Please Leave a Reply

