Wednesday’s Blog that Wasn’t: Living your Bliss: Haggis at RT in 2013!

“My mama told me there’d be days like this…” What she didn’t say was that following your bliss was going to be filled with chaotic days and restless nights fraught with emotion, not all of it good.

So what does that have to do with forgetting Wednesday’s blog?

Everything. (In the chaos of the week, I sincerely thought my Wednesday to blog was this coming week.) Let me explain.

My last name is MacDonald. I am very Scottish; by heritage and more importantly, by inclination. I’ve been immersed in Scottish culture, lore and traditions since birth with the passionate ferocity reserved for American transplants generations removed from the Highlands. I am a generational Highlander, if you will :). Trust me, the most Scottish Scots reside right here in the good ole’ USA.

Image Just ask a native Scot. (I’ve heard this so many times on my trips to Scotland. They think we’re bloody-hilarious with our avid kilt-wearing and caber-tossing).

Right here, in Milwaukee, we have the world’s largest Celtic Festival. We celebrate Highland Games, Highland Flings, have a diverse and energetic St. Andrew’s Society, and this month all across the globe, people of Scottish descent or inclination will be celebrating the life of Scotland’s national poet, Robert Burns.

Robert Burns is most famous for his song: Auld Lang Syne, which we sing on New Year’s Eve to welcome the New Year. But it’s his ‘Address to a Haggis’ that ties to my BLISS.

My husband and I are HAGGIS makers – Macski’s Highland Foods.

ImageImage

Our HAGGIS will be featured at RT this year ~ more to come in another blog about that.

So, did Haggis make me misjudge my blog date???  YES!

On Thursday the 10th, my husband and I were interviewed by the Milwaukee Journal Sentinel food editor, Nancy Stohs; who is a wonderful, funny and engaging person. Friday, Saturday, Sunday and Monday we met with new potential vendors. Tuesday the online article came out and Wednesday the paper version hit the stands.

Image Image

Hence the blown blog…sigh followed by happy dance…HAGGIS ROCKS!

Following my passions, my bliss, at this stage, is a life choice. It’s like nose-diving from the cliff of relative comfort; exhilarating, frightening, and while you’re taking that leap, you don’t know how you’re going to land.

As for me, I’m adjusting for wind shear, turning so I land on my feet poised to take off writing romance ~ mostly with a tie to Scotland ~ and bringing Scottish culture to life, with a distinctly American flair. I plan on spending as many days a year as I can in a kilt right along side my kilted family. Here’s to the romance of tilting cabers in the wind and following your Bliss. Live Well and Eat HAGGIS.

So what are your passions? How do you incorporate your Bliss into your daily life, especially when your bliss isn’t being so blissful? I’d love to hear from you!

This entry was posted in Leigh's Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Wednesday’s Blog that Wasn’t: Living your Bliss: Haggis at RT in 2013!

  1. Betsy Norman says:

    So wonderful! So inspiring!!! I wish you many blessings and the very best of success!

    Like

  2. Anonymous says:

    What a great post, Leigh. You’re so passionate about your Scottish heritage, you’re making us enjoy it too. I’m sure it shows in your books.

    Like

    • monarisk says:

      Above posted by Mona. I forgot to sign in.

      Like

      • leighmorgan1 says:

        Thanks, Mona! I hope my passion comes through in my writing and I hope it resonates with readers. If it hasn’t so far, well then, here’s hoping it will from this day forward. 🙂 I’m finding Haggis is an acquired taste, and for some, so is my prose 😉 Thanks for commenting and my apologies for missing my Wednesday. I’ll get it right next month!

        Like

  3. E. Ayers says:

    I loved hearing about the haggis. We missed you Wednesday, but it seems like it went for a good cause as we must follow our dreams. It’s things like this that make our lives fuller and brings that special component to our writing. Wishing you much luck.

    Like

    • leighmorgan1 says:

      Thanks, E! I really thought I had another week…noticed last night I missed my day, had a oh, shi* moment, and got on top of it this morning. Sometimes I have to shake my head and say, “Well kid, you can’t fix yesterday, but you can get your game on today.” So, I put my game face on and shared my Haggis journey :). January 25th is Burns day, which I’m looking forward to. We’re providing the Haggis and Veg Haggis for the Burns Banquet at the Wisconsin Club on the 26th! If you’ll be at RT, we’ll have our traditional and our veg haggis available for tasting. I’d love to share some with you :). Thanks for wishing us luck; we’ll take it!

      Like

  4. Jill James says:

    I have a McNeely branch of the family tree. Can I be an honorary Scots?

    Like

  5. leighmorgan1 says:

    Absolutely, Jill! Shall I send adoption papers? 😉

    Like

  6. It’s hard not to be so enthusiastic and proud of Scottish heritage! I agree with you completely and am also proud to be a Scot! Congratulations on having your haggis business featured in the paper. I actually tried your haggis at Irish Fest last year in Milwaukee and LOVED IT! I’m so glad I did. It’s inspiring to hear of your work, passions, interests and how far you’ve gone with them! Thanks for the post Leigh 🙂

    Like

    • leighmorgan1 says:

      Thanks, Hope! I’m so happy you tried and liked our Haggis at Irish Fest! We are hoping to have venders for our pasties and personal pies this year. Hope to see you there with haggis in your hand!

      Like

  7. No 1 fan says:

    What an awesome week. The interview was great and Nancy managed to work in all of our manufacturers. They are about as jazzed as I am. I am so proud of all that you have done to make this a reality. I hope that our company continues to grow as we bring delicious food to Scots and those who wish they were. Slainte

    Like

  8. Carol says:

    Thanks for sharing, Leigh! You’re an inspiration. I haven’t tried Haggis, and wish I were going to RT to try yours. Good luck!

    Like

    • leighmorgan1 says:

      Thanks, Carol! I’m hoping that as soon as the distribution is set, by March 1, 2013, you’ll be able to order not only from our site, but from Amazon as well. They sell canned haggis now, but it’s not the same. Thanks for the good luck; we’ll take it!

      Like

  9. Great JS article Leigh! (It’s SAUSAGE, ok??) Love the pic of you and Vince and the bagpiper.

    Like

  10. leighmorgan1 says:

    Thanks, Mary. I love that photo too. And you’re right…the sausage line is classic! Thanks for commenting!

    Like

Please Leave a Reply

