True Confession – My First Love

When we met, I was 13 and he was 26. OK, so we didn’t exactly meet. From the cover of Tiger Beat magazine his smoldering gaze met mine and I was hooked. It was 1984 and Simon-Le-Bon-Duran-DuranDuran Duran was at the top of the charts, plastered over girls’ lockers and bedroom walls everywhere. The band’s singer, Simon Le Bon—with his spiked, frosted hair, bedroom eyes and poet’s soul—would soon be firmly woven into my adolescent fantasies.

I was a loyal girlfriend. Even after Duran Duran became uncool, seen as bubble-gum pretty boys when harder-edged music took over the airwaves, I stuck by Simon and the band well into my teens. I collected rare 12-inch singles and studied the song lyrics like they were Shakespearean sonnets. When Simon married a model in 1987, I died a little inside.

Eventually, though, I discovered that guys I could actually talk to face-to-face made better companions. Gradually Simon faded from my life.tumblr_m7nt6puDC61rn8jjo

He’s now middle-aged and paunchy with grown children. I’m (mph)-aged and married with three kids. Still … once in a while, when I see a clip of the band performing (they still do), or stumble upon one of their old music videos on YouTube, I feel that same thrill, like I’m 13 again.

Time for your true confession – who was your first teen-idol crush?

About susanrhughes

Susan R. Hughes is a USA Today bestselling author of contemporary and historical romance. She lives in Ottawa, Ontario, with her husband and three children.
This entry was posted in Susan's Posts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to True Confession – My First Love

  1. Tori Scott says:

    Oh man, that’s a tough one. I grew up in the sixties/early seventies. The golden age of golden boys, both in bands and on TV. David Cassidy, Ricky Nelson, Davy Jones, Bobby Sherman, David McCallum, Paul McCartney, Elvis Presley, Eric Estrada, Donnie Osmond, Frankie Avalon…the list could go on and on. I was madly in love with each and every one at one time or another.

    Like

  2. Carol says:

    My favorites were Ricky Nelson and Elvis Presley. I couldn’t decide if Ricky’s blue eyes or Elvis’s lopsided grin made my heart skip a beat. Thanks for the memories. 🙂

    Like

  3. Ricky Nelson’s sons are doing a homage to their father in the next big town soon. I thought he was something. But I fell for him before he began singing, when he was on the Ozzie and Harriet show. Their family seemed so normal compared to ours.

    Like

  4. I was 8 and he was 21. (I was a child prodigy in the field of romance). It was 1963 the Beatles were all the rage and I adored Paul McCartney. Of course I wasn’t alone, but I was heavy into daydreaming. The highlight of my summer of 1964was seeing the Beatles movie A Hard Day’s Night. (sigh)
    Thanks for prompting fond memories of the innocent young days of the (pre-pre) teen idol crush!

    Like

  5. Jill James says:

    My first love was Donnie Osmond. He was just so cute that you wanted to hug him. He was the kind of guy you could bring home and your mom would be sure to let you date, even if you were too young yet.

    Then I turned 13 and saw and heard David Bowie for the first time and decided bad boys were so much more fun. 😉

    Like

  6. My teenage first love was Paul Anka. When he got married I literally cried. Our teen minds are something else, eh. Nice to see all of these teenage “first loves” in the comments.

    Like

  7. leighmorgan1 says:

    What a great post! The one that sticks out for me first is Shawn Cassidy, then tragically, Andy Gibb. I fell for Shawn in the Hardy Boys and he was also on Tiger Beat….ahhhhhhhhhhhhh. I had a mad crush on Andy Gibb until I learned he was in a relationship with Victoria Pricipal. Does anyone remember her? By the time Andy spiraled down and eventually died, my very young heart had moved on, but it was still so tragically sad. Jon Bon Jovi and John Rzeznik (from the Goo-Goo Dolls) still make my heart beat faster and John Rzeznik is closer to my age, so it’s all good! Thanks again for the smile and the memories 🙂

    Like

  8. bellastreet says:

    Mine was Andy Gibb. Oh, the tears I shed and how I hated that tramp, Victoria!

    Like

  9. monarisk says:

    What a great post. For me it was Elvis, or as we said it, Eeeeeel-vis, with a swooning tone. Later the Beattles of course. And I never missed a single show of Donnie and Marie.

    Like

  10. E. Ayers says:

    Oh what fun! Thanks for all the giggles.

    At an early age I was dying over Rudolf Nureyev and then Mikhail Baryshnikov. Oh, what bodies! Yeah, I was into older men. (I got to watch Rudolf practice on stage for over an hour – oh drool!) I wasn’t into the early Beatles music, but as they changed, I began to enjoy them. George was my favorite. Am I skewed a little differently? Probably.

    I’m willing to bet Simon Le Bon can’t hold a candle to your hubby. Besides, the voices go on these old guys. Unless they’ve got lots of money, there’s not much there. And money is not enough!

    Like

  11. susanrhughes says:

    My husband hasn’t sung professionally, but he has a beautiful singing voice that makes me swoon!

    Like

Please Leave a Reply

