I’m Late, I’m Late For a Very Important Date!

Daylight Savings Time is kicking my butt this year. I normally have my blog post done and ready to post at midnight on my blog day, but not this time. You’d think since I’m now a full-time writer who can set her own hours that the time change wouldn’t affect me, but for some reason, this year it’s throwing everything off.

My normal work schedule is to start writing around midnight and write until 3 or 4 a.m. With the time change, the hubby is staying up later, which messes up my evening schedule of promo, putting my writing start time off until 1 a.m. And then I end up writing until around 5 a.m. Which means I sleep until 11. I find myself scrambling to get his lunch fixed before my eyes are even open.

Tomorrow it all gets worse. That’s when the roofers will arrive at 7:30 a.m. to begin the total roof replacement. That means I either have to go to bed by midnight or just forget about sleep all together. The noise will mean no nap in the afternoon. And then there’s the matter of no internet and no TV for several days since they have to take off the satellite dishes to put the roof over my office.

My skin is already crawling. No internet? For what could be up to a week? No way.

I have this little thing called OCD. No, I don’t wash my hands over and over or do repetitive stuff. But I do have to check my Amazon numbers multiple times a day. And my email. And Facebook. Not being able to do this is likely to throw me into a tail spin.

How am I going to handle it? I’m planning to throw myself into my writing. With no internet for days, I’ll have no excuse not to buckle down and write. If the muse gives her blessing, I could actually finish the current book by the time the roof is done. And get it edited by the time they finish repairing the living room ceiling and painting the whole living room.  And hey, that living room really needs painting and I won’t have to do it myself.

That’s my excuse and I’m sticking to it. Panic is throwing me off my game and making me late–for everything.

What about you? What do you do when life throws you a curve ball? Do you find a way around the obstacles, or do they tend to stop you in your tracks for a while?

When I wrote Lean on Me, I wrote nearly non-stop for five weeks, ignoring the internet, never watching the TV. I’m hoping for that kind of concentration again this time, if only for a week. My heroine Sandy had all kinds of things thrown at her all at once, but she had a little help from her next door neighbor, Hunter. Help she needed, but didn’t want. Maybe I can talk the current hunky hero into stepping up and helping me out here.

Lean on Me New copy

About Tori Scott

Author, former Golden Heart finalist, published by Red Sage, in Woman's World, and selected news media. I live near Dallas Texas and write sexy romantic comedy, contemporary small-town romance, and romantic suspense.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to I’m Late, I’m Late For a Very Important Date!

  1. Mona Risk says:

    Welcome to the ‘always late club’, Tori. Trying to be on time is the story of my life and the subject of many nitpicking from my dear hubby. Why are we late? Because we try to handle too much. Let me translate that French proverb: “Qui trôp étreind, mal embrasse.” Literally, “Who hugs too many, doesn’t kiss them well.” Now about the noise, I can sympathise. You should hear the rattling going on here, as they are repairing the balconies in my building. I can’t talk on the phone even. Now forget the Internet, (I mean try to survive without it) and finish the book. Lack of Internet is my biggest worry when I go on cruises. I tweeted and FB your post.

    Like

  2. Jill James says:

    Tori, take this time as a blessing instead of a curse. I can not resist a ringing phone. My husband hates when I answer the phone in the middle of a tv program or dinner. My neurotic writer self is just sure it is something I must hear right now. What if it is really important and I miss it??!!

    Like

  3. Tori Scott says:

    I’m another one who can’t resist a ringing phone. Love my iPhone. I can put it on Do Not Disturb that screens my calls and only lets ones from family come through when I’m busy. I have a serious Internet addiction. I literally go through withdrawal when I’m away from it. I keep telling myself this will be good for me. I might even find time to read!

    Like

  4. I have been exhausted all week and yet I can’t manage to get myself to bed on time. It’s rather ridiculous how one little hour can wreck such havoc on us all! 🙂 Good luck with the new roof and finding some time to rest, no internet usually means I actually get some writing done, I hope that is the case for you!

    Like

  5. bellwriter says:

    I believe the time change contributed to my cold. 🙂 I agree with the others. Try to make good use of your time. Maybe you’ll break some of those OCD habits. Cute post.

    Like

  6. leighmorgan1 says:

    The first couple of days is hard for me too. It’s kind of experiencing jet lag, but I’m usually on vacation when that happens so it’s all good. It will get better. Good luck with the roof…no internet? ICK!

    Like

  7. JoanReeves says:

    You’re a writer, Tori. Of course you’re late! It goes with the territory. *g* I’m at the point where I wish they’d just leave the time one way or the other. *g*

    Like

  8. I’m really, really afraid to attempt the ‘no-internet’ method of fast writing, but Tori, I think you’re onto something there! Good luck!

    Like

Please Leave a Reply

