True Love by Susan R. Hughes

weddingEvery romance novel is about one thing—finding true love. There are a million routes to get you there, but the destination is always the same. Typically the story ends with a wedding, a happily-ever-after moment. In real life, this is where the adventure starts, but it’s not all tender words and longing glances. The years that follow bring the toughest challenges.

I remember only one part of the speech I gave at my wedding. I turned to my new husband and said, “You are my best friend and my true love.” Fifteen years later, I can still look at him and say that with sincerity.

We’ve been through a lot together. It seems there have been more downs than ups. We’ve weathered stresses that neither of us could have anticipated. But at the end of the day, I can curl up next to him on the couch and feel just as cherished as the day he slid the wedding band onto my finger. He knows me better than anyone, and sees qualities in me that I can’t see in myself. I can tell him just about anything without fear of judgment or rejection.

I am still passionate about him. Over the years, the strain of paying bills and raising children can sap the heat out of a relationship, but as long as you’ve still got a spark you can always rekindle the fire. In those quiet moments together, a look or a touch from him still makes me tingle the way it did when we first met.

Is this what true love is, ever after? I think so.

Visit  me at susanrhughes.weebly.com

About susanrhughes

Susan R. Hughes is a USA Today bestselling author of contemporary and historical romance. She lives in Ottawa, Ontario, with her husband and three children.
This entry was posted in Susan's Posts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to True Love by Susan R. Hughes

  1. Jill James says:

    Wouldn’t it be nice if we were told the wedding is the beginning, not the end? And that the downs make the ups so much sweeter?

    Like

  2. monarisk says:

    Lovely picture, Susan. A loving husband is the best gift in the world in our rocky times. We appreciate our luck and work hard at keeping it going.

    Like

  3. JoanReeves says:

    What a lovely post!

    Like

  4. It’s so nice to see successful marriages. My Dad and Step Mom have been married almost 30 years and it can’t always be easy, but they respect one another, beyond loving one another and I admire most that about them, after all these years!

    Like

  5. leighmorgan1 says:

    Wonderful post. HEA is easy in books because we see the journey and the fulfillment of that journey. Marriage or long-term relationships are hard because life is the journey and every day we try for HEA. Hope your journey is filled with HEA moments every day.

    Like

Please Leave a Reply

