Series or Single

Readers seek holiday books all year round, but never more than November and December, though I’ve had impressive sales throughout other months also. I, too, love a great Christmas story anytime. I look for a great plot, good writing, and lovable characters regardless of what time of year it is.

My heroine, Tina in “A Smoky Mountain Christmas,” offered her next installment “A Smoky Mountain Wedding.” I wasn’t sure I wanted to write a sequel to my humorous book, so I put the heroine off for months. Book number one, was the first Romantic Comedy I’d written, and I expected it to be my last attempt at humor or comedy. Finally I gave in and Tina simply won’t stop whispering in my ear. That gal has a lot of story to leave behind.

Over the past year, several readers have pleasantly surprised me by asking if there would be a sequel, or that they’d like to see Tom’s (a convict from Book One) story. The more I thought about it the more I decided the story wasn’t finished. I wanted to read Tom’s story too.

So now I have plot points and several scene set-ups. Oh, I’m itching to get started on the next book and find out what happens. 🙂 It really is hard to give up lovable characters when you spend so many months in their heads.

After the Wedding book, will be a Baby book. Can’t wait to get started on either book. I had several chapters outlined and a few paragraphs written, but for some odd reason, it’s nowhere on my computer. I think Word ate it, at least that’s my excuse. Ha!

At any rate, a Christmas series has definitely whetted my appetite.

How many readers love sequels? I do. Do you have a favorite series?

My books are available at Barnes & Noble, Amazon, Kobo, Sony, Diesel, Apple and Smashwords.

You can find links on my website, here. http://caroldevaney.weebly.com/my-books.

About Carol

Carol falls in love with every character she writes in her books. She loves basing them on the good and the bad personalities that make up life. That's what makes them real. Carol feels as though she’s in a movie when visualizing characters and she jumps right onto the page with them. Often the theme of her books is forgiveness. Whether planned or not, forgiveness sneaks its way into her stories. That's okay, because Carol believes forgiving others is essential. She favors a great story, with slices of twists that cause her to reflect on the problems life throws at us and how we react. Carol believes in happy endings. Humor is a big part of her stories and daily routine, and yes, she laughs a lot! Travel is one of her favorite things to do. She dabbles in art, always has popcorn and hot chocolate on hand. Carol is a small-town girl at heart and her stories are peppered with a dose of humor, based on Southern roots. She currently resides in Georgia with her husband and family.
This entry was posted in Carol's Posts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Series or Single

  1. stephaniequeen says:

    I vote for series every time! Once I find a world full of characters I enjoy I never want to leave!

    Like

  2. I love sequels!!! Love, love, love them!!! Hate to give up good friends!!

    Like

  3. Yes, people want to read more about Boggie Bayou, I’m working on the next book. The series is about the town, some characters from the first book will appear in the other.
    I read about one author making a spreadsheet with all the characters in her books. I have a hard time making up names, so this will keep me from using a name I’ve already used before, and with a brief description about them, I can pull them in to any book in the series. With a spreadsheet it will save me a lot of time digging around trying to find the information. I love spreadsheets.

    Like

  4. monarisk says:

    I too finally gave in to the urge of writing series, my Holiday Babies series, but each book is a stand on all by itself, with the former characters briefly appearing.

    Like

  5. Jill James says:

    I love reading series, writing, not as much. It is work to keep characters and timelines straight. My next series, The Single Mommies Club will have all four books written before the first is published so everything is connected as I can make it.

    Like

  6. leighmorgan1 says:

    I love series and sequels, especially those that follow families and generations. Seasonal stories are also wonderful. Great post!

    Like

  7. Joan Leacott says:

    I’m a fan of series, too. My all-time favourite is Robyn Carr’s Virgin River series. Her new Thunder Point series is an excellent follow-up.

    Like

  8. J.D. Faver says:

    I loved Tina and Hank in A Smoky Mountain Christmas, and I’m so glad you’re getting them married off. I have found that writing series is very rewarding. My first series, set in South Padre Island just keeps going on and on. I love that readers nudge me to get with it and crank out the next one. Surprisingly, one of my earlier novels, Badlands, developed in my little brain and I’m about to finish the sequel…the hero is the guy who didn’t get the girl in the first one. And the third series I’m working on is for my YA-fantasy series written with a different pen name. I believe in it so much I bought 5 covers from a wonderful artist with the same model. So I’m committed.
    Can’t wait to read A Smoky Mountain Wedding. Tina is not the only one waiting impatiently. *hugs*

    Like

    • Carol says:

      J.D., I’m so happy you loved Tina and Hank’s story. Tina and Hank plan to marry, but will they really marry or will it be someone else? What will they go through before the big decision? Your South Padre Island series is wonderful. Great stories. Congratulations on all of them and your upcoming YA-fantasy series. 🙂

      Like

  9. JoanReeves says:

    Yes, I too love series books. When I find characters I like, I want to follow them. Good luck with the new spinoffs.

    Like

  10. Carol says:

    Thanks, Joan. Here’s hoping readers love Tina, Hank and the Smoky Mountains. 🙂

    Like

Please Leave a Reply

