Rain, Rain, Go Away

It feels like it has been raining here for weeks. And it has, on and off. The last few days though have been relentless. The rivers near our home are flooding. Roads are closed. Farm fields are running black with sludge. And my mood reflects the weather; so gray and dim and dampening.

Most of the time I don’t mind the rain, especially when there’s intermittent sunshine tossed in to round out the day. This unrelenting rain has gotten to me. It’s hard to smile when everything is wet.

The news this week hasn’t brought any rays of sunshine either. The senselessness in Boston and the willingness to maim and kill randomly without compunction or remorse seems to be making the heavens weep. Knowing there is no cause and effect relationship doesn’t stop the writer in me from finding connections where there are none.

As I was thinking of upbeat topics to blog about, the weather and the week’s events kept circling in my head. Neither of them particularly things I want to dwell on, primarily because I can’t change them, but they’re here and there’s no escaping weather or news. (Sometimes escaping e-mail is huge victory.)

So, friends what do you do when the weather turns for too long in a dark direction or the news of the week turns destructive to your psyche in a way that has you questioning the humanity of your fellow humans?

I saw a quote from Fred Rogers on FB that said something like, and I’m paraphrasing, ‘when tragedy strikes, look for the helpers’. I love that. There are always helpers and focusing on that does help. I also look at my children and think, there are really great people in the world who make every day better just by being here.

My thoughts and prayers go out to all those who have fallen victim to senseless violence, especially those in Boston this week. Peace to you and those you hold dear. It’s time for a little sunshine in our hearts, in our actions and in our lives.

Leigh

 

This entry was posted in Leigh's Posts. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Rain, Rain, Go Away

  1. Tori Scott says:

    Here in Texas, we’re also dealing with the aftermath of the fertilizer plant explosion in West, Texas. Rain and cold are making rescue efforts more difficult. I know we need the rain to fill the lakes and reservoirs, but until these people are found and housed, they could use some warmth and sunshine.

    Like

    • leighmorgan1 says:

      My thoughts and prayers are with you this week as well. May the helpers find those who have been harmed by the explosion. When they are housed and well, I’d love to see some of our rain go your way.

      Like

  2. Jill James says:

    “A little sunshine in our hearts.” Very beautiful, Leigh.

    Like

  3. We’re getting a lot of rain here too. One way I like to bring some sunshine to a rainy day is by drinking tea and either watch a movie or listen to my favorite music. That way I can escape it in a sense. Thanks for the post Leigh!

    Like

  4. leighmorgan1 says:

    I purchased two items today, a can of Revv Ginger and Zest tea and a loaf of bakery sourdough bread that’s nice and crusty. Just poured a pot of the tea, Hope. I feel better cozying into it and some reading time. Thanks for the suggestion. I guess we’re on the same wave length.

    Like

  5. susanrhughes says:

    A depressing week in the news! It serves as a reminder to appreciate our families and friends and not sweat the small stuff.

    Like

  6. leighmorgan1 says:

    You are so right, Susan. Appreciating those closest to me right now, even the ones I’m irritated with. Sure wish this rain would give it a rest already, though. 🙂

    Like

  7. JoanReeves says:

    After the tragedies in Boston and in West, Texas, all I can think is that I’m grateful to feel the rain — grateful to know my family is safe. My prayers are with the families.

    Like

  8. leighmorgan1 says:

    I am grateful as well. Unfortunately it’s not just rain here. I live by the Fox, the Root and there are other tributaries in our community that are flooding. People are in danger and every year children die on the Fox. The rain is not our friend now.

    Like

    • leighmorgan1 says:

      The danger right now is little to the many and focused on the few. Last year I had a child client die in the Fox so I’m not so able to be grateful for it’s increased flow. After weeks of rain and more to come the mood isn’t light here.

      Like

  9. My heartfelt prayers go out to each and everyone.

    Like

Please Leave a Reply

