Single Mother’s Day!

20130502-214556.jpg

Mother’s Day as a single mom is a little different experience. There is no Dad to buy flowers or pick out the card, no one else to plan a day out or watch the kid(s) while you have a spa day!

I have purchased most of my own Mother’s Day cards, but they still matter, they still make me feel loved. My son, at 6, wanted to take me out for the day. He told me we would need $20 and he would give me directions to take us places. He got us to one stop, but eventually he had to give me the whole itinerary, because…well he was 6 and didn’t know his way around town as well as he thought he would. It was adorable and even though we pretty much did all of his favorite things, it was ok because I was with my favorite person the whole day. Besides, how much sweeter can you get?

So next Sunday I will open a card that I bought myself, but haven’t seen or read just yet. A card that he told me where he hid it when we got home. A card that he told me he wrote in yesterday. A card that will mean so much to me, because he has to do this whole thing mostly on his own. He is a good boy, he is going to be an amazing man. I’m making sure of it, it’s my job, I’m his Mom!

Watching him grow is my greatest joy and sweetest sorrow. I often wish he was the little angel pictured above! Now he is the handsome boy below. I love him more all the time, I wish I could keep him close to me forever and at the same time I can’t wait to watch him reach for the stars. Watch out world this star is going to shine so bright he may resemble the sun! My son!

20130502-220343.jpg

Thanks for stopping by and Happy Mother’s Day to all the mom’s out there. We appreciate all you do to feed the soul of the world by parenting good kids, hopefully some of them are readers!

Kelly Rae

This entry was posted in Kelly's Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Single Mother’s Day!

  1. What a wonderful post! What a delightful son! You are truly blessed. Enjoy your day.

    Like

    • He is beyond words, amazing. So glad you enjoyed. I often post the crazy/smart/insightful/OMG! things this boy says on my Facebook page. He is far more interesting than I could ever be! 🙂

      Like

  2. Tori Scott says:

    It takes an extra strong woman to be a single mom and do it well. Happy Mother’s Day!

    Like

  3. monarisk says:

    Kelly, I wish and I’m sure you’ll have a wonderful Mother’s Day because your son is so special and you are a special Mom.

    Like

  4. susanrhughes says:

    Sounds like a very sweet boy. Enjoy your day together.

    Like

  5. leighmorgan1 says:

    What a wonderful little man you have :). Happy Mother’s Day, Kelly.

    Like

  6. Carol says:

    Evidently you’re doing an awesome bringing up your son. He sounds so grown-up and loving. Have a great Mother’s Day. 🙂

    Like

  7. E. Ayers says:

    Parenting a son alone is tough, but sons always remain close to their mom. You’ll turn around one day and realize he’s graduating from high school. Where did the time go? Turn around again and his children are graduating from high school! Spend time with them and enjoy them while you can.

    Can’t wait to hear what your son has planned for you this Mother’s Day.

    Like

Please Leave a Reply

