Dear Mom …

mom&sueUntil I became a mother, I never knew how hard it is to put your kids above yourself, teach them honesty, strength and compassion by example, maintain patience and humour under the most trying circumstances, read Dr. Seuss yet again even though you’re exhausted, shield them from your own worries, love them no matter what they do and give them warm memories to last a lifetime. You made it look so easy.

Now I know just how much it touched your heart to receive those handmade Mother’s Day cards with “I love you” scrawled across them. Whenever I read books to my girls, make them macaroni and cheese with your recipe, tie a pony tail or sew a Brownie badges onto a sash, I remember you doing the same things when I was young. Every day I appreciate how devoted and selfless you were—and still are.

Sometimes I yearn for the day my little girls will become more independent and won’t need me quite so much. At the same time, I dread it. But I know that even after a girl grows up, marries and has kids of her own, she never stops needing her mother.

Love you, Mom. Happy Mother’s Day.

About susanrhughes

Susan R. Hughes is a USA Today bestselling author of contemporary and historical romance. She lives in Ottawa, Ontario, with her husband and three children.
This entry was posted in Susan's Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Dear Mom …

  1. monarisk says:

    Happy Mother’s Day, Susan, enjoy your girls. I’m in VA, This morning I fixed breakfast and walked two little girls to the bus station, It’s lovely to be with them and listen to their endless stories.

    Like

  2. Tori Scott says:

    The days of raising children are far behind me, but I do remember how much work it was. And how much joy kids bring into the home. Happy Mother’s Day.

    Like

  3. leighmorgan1 says:

    Happy Mother’s Day, Susan. Enjoy every moment! I’ve saved every hand-made card. I can’t wait for the day I can share them with my grandchildren (if I’m lucky enough to have them some day), so they can see how sweet their parents were as children.

    Like

  4. E. Ayers says:

    Happy Mother’s Day to all our Main Street mothers no matter which street you live on or where you live. I know this is an American holiday and it’s catching on in other countries, but it’s a lovely thing to celebrate mothers and those substitute mothers who are part of our lives.

    Like

Please Leave a Reply

