June Wedding: 5:47 P.M. – The Bride’s Great Aunt

“Naomi, aren’t you dressed yet?” Bitsy asked.
She’d been waiting for twenty minutes and it was time to leave for the wedding if they were going to get a seat up close.
“I’m coming, I’m coming, just hold that old nag while I buckle this strap.” Naomi’s voice came from her bedroom where she disappeared to ‘get ready.’
She’s wearing strap on shoes?
Bitsy finished drinking her second cup of coffee, then went to the kitchen to place it in the sink. She turned on the tap to fill it with water and heard the clump, clump, clump of Naomi walking down the hall.
Turning, she gasped when she saw Naomi.
“Whiskey Tango Foxtrot, what are you wearing?”
Naomi was decked out in her prom dress.
“Ain’t it grand!  And it still fits.” Naomi turned around so that Bitsy could stare in shock at the decades old dress.
It was faded from the hot candy apple red of yesteryear into a softer red. It did look lovely, but would the aged fabric last the evening?
“Naomi, you’ve got to be kidding.”
Naomi gave her the mischievous grin that Bitsy knew so well. “Oh, yes.”
Bitsy looked down at Naomi’s shoes and gave an inward groan. “Are you serious?”
Naomi held up her foot, showing three inch heels. “These babies make me taller.”
“Those babies will make you fall on your ass. You’d be lucky not to break a hip.”
“That’s why you’re my date. I can’t let my grandniece down on her wedding day. You can make sure I don’t fall.”
Bitsy closed her eyes and swore to herself. “They make you five foot three, what do you need the three extra inches for?”
“You don’t think I’m gonna wear my waitress shoes, do you?”
“They’d be safer.”
“Oh Bitsy. Just think how Joanna will turn green when she sees them.”
Bitsy thought for a second. “Well, yes. That would be worth it, but I’m telling you, if you fall, it’s on your own. I don’t intend to break my hip because of your foolishness.”
Naomi laughed. “We could be roomies at the hospital.”
It was Bitsy’s turn to laugh, “More like roomies at the nursing home while we try to learn how to walk again.”
They both laughed as they walked out the front door.
“You are a lot taller with those shoes on, I have to look up to you,” said Bitsy.
“I know. I might wear heels more often.”
red high heels with strap
~~~
Bitsy and Naomi are characters in The Devil Has Dimples.
About Pepper Phillips

Writer of Sassy Southern Romance Novels
This entry was posted in Pepper's Posts and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to June Wedding: 5:47 P.M. – The Bride’s Great Aunt

  1. Jill James says:

    LOL I’m loving Bitsy and Naomi. Gotta read that book!

    Like

  2. Pingback: June Wedding: 5:47 P.M. – The Bride’s Great Aunt | Jill James, romance author

  3. susanrhughes says:

    I want to go to this wedding and meet these people.

    Like

  4. Pingback: June Wedding: 5:47 P.M. – The Bride’s Great Aunt | Pepper Phillips

  5. sandy dennis says:

    Can’t wait for this book to come out.

    Like

  6. Carol says:

    Can’t wait to read it either!

    Like

  7. monarisk says:

    Too funny. I can just see the old aunt wearing these stilettoes.

    Like

Please Leave a Reply

