On the Eve of a Wedding….

You are cordially invited…sounds like trouble.

When I first got the invitation I wasn’t sure I should go. Is it customary to invite your ex boyfriend to your wedding? I sure wouldn’t. Granted the Chris and Samantha era ended more than 4 years ago and we have managed to stay at the level somewhere between acquaintance and friend since then. But, I always have always been a good breaker upper. And this is a small town, so you have to be or the whole town knows. I kind of had it down to a science, the key was to never lie and always be upfront. Then there is no legitimate reason for a woman to be upset when you break things off, since you warned them when things started. Sure sounds much nicer in my head than that. Oh well, I don’t have to worry about that anymore since Katie came home.

Katie, my beautiful girlfriend. My beautiful girlfriend who is willing to attend an exes wedding with me tomorrow. My Katie, who didn’t bat an eye and said I was being ridiculous worrying about the whole wedding thing. In a small town she said you go to every wedding, just to see what happens, good and bad. My Katie, who hasn’t once hinted that she wants to marry me. Maybe that’s the trouble with weddings, it either makes you wish for one or run from one. No telling what tomorrow will bring.

“Chris, babe, let’s go.” Katie shouted from the front door. How can a man take so damn long to get ready, she wondered? “We’ll be late for the whole wedding.”

“I’m right here, I couldn’t get my tie knotted. Sorry, let’s go.” Chris muttered as he walked past Katie, standing in the doorway, and headed for his truck.

“What’s up with you today, you are acting so strange?” Katie questioned.

“I’m fine Angel, just fine.”

“You don’t seem fine, but I will let it go, if you promise me a dance.”

“Do I ever deny you anything?”

“Yes, all the time.” Katie laughed and socked Chris in his right arm. “I can’t wait to see the decorations and I heard from Martha, that the cake and food is all being prepared by Samantha’s best friend. Word is she is makes the best cakes in five counties. Apparently, she used to live here, I got the run down when I went shopping for my dress.”

“Please don’t tell me, I don’t need to know.” Chris requested.

“Oh fine, don’t be a gossip hound like the rest of this town. You’re no fun.”

“Oh I’m going to be fun, you just wait until I get you home from this thing.” He warned with a gorgeous, mischievous smile.

“Promises, promises…so you still feeling weird about this wedding?”

“No.” He a answered much too quickly.

“Ok, that wasn’t convincing. Is it me?”

“Honey I’m ok, promise.”

All she gave him was a shoulder shrug and a “hmpf”.

Chris only hoped that Katie didn’t keep asking him questions. He wasn’t really sure what was going on with him. He just felt nervous. Like this day was somehow going to change everything.

As he turned onto Main St. and saw the first signs of the days celebration, he was beginning to think the reigning bachelor supreme of Pennsville Station just might the next one headed to the altar. With none other than the lovely lady, sitting to his right.

You can read about Katie and Chris’s journey in my novel What If…, available at Amazon and Barnes Noble.

This entry was posted in Kelly's Posts. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to On the Eve of a Wedding….

  1. Oh, Katie sure knows how things work in small towns. I love her spunk.
    Wonder who will catch the bouquet?
    WHAT IF… is a great book!

    Like

  2. Jill James says:

    Oh, I like Katie. Hope she enjoys the wedding.

    Like

  3. Pingback: The June Wedding: On the Eve of a Wedding…. | Pepper Phillips

  4. leighmorgan1 says:

    Really enjoyed that!

    Like

  5. Carol says:

    Love it, Kelly!

    Like

  6. Mona Risk says:

    So Katie and Chris’s story is in What if… I have to read this.

    Like

  7. Thanks ladies, sorry for the late response, I was actually traveling to a family memorial service this weekend, typing my blog post on my phone (please forgive my typos, who can tell on these darn phones) and just today got back from being w/ family.

    I am so glad we did this theme, it’s such a good time and boy is Chris a little nervous about how the wedding is going to change his own life w/ Katie. Men sure can be skittish, can’t they? 😃

    Like

Please Leave a Reply

