Light Summer Tacos

Crater Lake, Oregon

Crater Lake, Oregon (Photo credit: GoodNCrazy)

It’s hot, anyone else hot? My goodness! I am in Oregon visiting my Mom and it’s hotter here than in California, where I live in San Diego. My mother lives right in the middle of the state where it’s the High Desert and weather can be at either end of the extremes. Snow/Slush & Cold for 9 months and Summer Sun for 3 months is the norm. But it sure is beautiful when the sun shines and you get to spend the day at the gorgeous lakes here.

In light of the weather and to avoid having to cook and create more heat in the house, I made a light a yummy vegetarian taco, which isn’t much work at all. I don’t eat meat on a normal day, but when it’s hot I really don’t want to eat anything heavy. I hope you have the chance to enjoy this yummy main dish.

Quinoa Tacosquinoa and black bean salad

In a rice cooker place the following items:

Quinoa [ Keen – Wah] (measure as much as needed for your crew – same ratio as rice)

Water (2 cups for every cup of Quinoa)

1 can of black beans (if making more than 2 cups add more beans)

1 can of corn (or frozen will work / if making more than 2 cups of quinoa add more corn)

Salsa or stewed tomatoes to taste (optional)

Cook on white rice setting and that’s that 🙂

Once it’s cooked, garnish with cheese, tomatoes, onions, salsa or whatever you put on your regular beef tacos. It’s good with corn or flour tortillas and they can be warmed up pretty quickly in the microwave or on the stove top without much trouble.

They are even a hit with kids and I hope you enjoy them too!!

I am sorry I was a little late posting this today, it seems when you are in the middle of nowhere you can actually forget what day of the week it is…my goodness. I have to admit other than feeling bad when I realized I was late, it is sort of nice to lose time.

Wishing you all a wonderful Independence Day Weekend!

Kelly Rae

This entry was posted in Kelly's Posts. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Light Summer Tacos

  1. Jill James says:

    Kelly, summer is for losing track of the day. Fourth of July threw me all off. Those look yummy.

    Like

  2. bellastree says:

    Looks great, Kelly!

    Like

  3. Carol says:

    Quinoa is already a favorite, so making this dish will be a pleasure. Sounds delicious, Kelly!

    Like

  4. susanrhughes says:

    You’re making me hungry.

    Like

  5. E. Ayers says:

    Oh this looks very yummy. Quinoa is now on my grocery list! I often do vegetarian tacos. I just drop the meat and use extra beans, but this looks really good! Thanks for sharing and have fun with Mom!

    Like

  6. leighmorgan1 says:

    Yum!

    Like

Please Leave a Reply

