Summer Slump

What a summer it’s panning out to be. I’m going to tell you all a secret, I’ve been in a real slump. I sit in front of my computer and spend a lot of time TRYING to write. When you have to try there is little chance it’s going to be your best work. I think I’ve spent more time, editing old work, than creating new work!

It’s a painful way to spend gorgeous summer days. I had to really take stock of choices I made and decide what’s important. And I realize how happy writing makes me, how happy I was when I worked less, lived somewhere more simple and could afford to work at my craft, rather than work at working at my craft!

So, I’ve spent my summer very frustrated. And it all boils down to what makes a quality life? I’ve decided that for me there has been a shift in proprieties and in my idea of success. Success used to be getting that office with a door, the bigger and better title on a business card.

Now, success is spending as much time with my son, as he grows faster than a weed. Today, success is living a simpler life so I can focus on my dream. So, I’ve decided to reboot and move my life to a small town, where I can write more, work a day job less and be home when my son gets off the school bus! SUCCESS

Watch out world, the next novel is gonna be a doozy! 🙂

20130801-231651.jpg

This entry was posted in Kelly's Posts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Summer Slump

  1. Jill James says:

    Kelly, as I get older I do think simpler is better. Now if my life would agree, that would be nice.

    Like

  2. Mona Risk says:

    Hi Kelly, it seems that you have been writing this post about ME! I have been a Summer Slump too. I enjoyed my grandchildren’s visit and spent wonderful hours with them at the beach. I also received a high school friend for a week, then we traveled together for a class reunion… And all this time, no writing, not a single line. It seems as if my muse is getting her revenge because I neglected her. You are right to rearrange your priorities. Being with your son for longer hours is so important. Those kids grow up so fast, and then they are suddenly gone.

    Like

  3. Carol says:

    I completely understand the writing slump. Children grow too fast not to spend as much time as possible with them. Good luck with the move and happier writing days. 🙂

    Like

  4. Tori Scott says:

    Currently in a slump, too. Too much traveling in June and July, my routine disrupted by the youngest returning home temporarily, family coming to visit with the requisite cleaning frenzy that accompanies it, a new dog that I didn’t want right now but it adopted us and won’t leave…my mind won’t settle down to get words on the page. Looking forward to when life returns to normal…

    Like

  5. E. Ayers says:

    Moving? I love small town life. Some decisions are difficult, but in the end, they are worth it.

    Like

  6. leighmorgan1 says:

    Go for it! Sometimes it takes all the courage we have to live the way we want to live. I’ve never regretted a day with my children…there have been times working when I couldn’t make an event, or more truthfully many events over many years, and now I can’t remember what case was so important that I couldn’t be there. It’s good to be there now. 🙂 I can’t wait to read the story you come up with next! May this journey bring every good thing to you and your son 🙂

    Like

Please Leave a Reply

