A Day of Remembrance

unitedwestand

I’m betting we all remember exactly where we were and what we were doing on 9/11/2001 at 8:46 a.m. I was at home, busily writing while my husband was at work, my youngest daughter was at boarding school in Dallas, and my youngest son was still asleep upstairs. I didn’t know about the attack right away because I didn’t have the TV on and I didn’t have Facebook at that time. It wasn’t until people in my writer’s groups on Yahoo started posting about it that I learned what had happened. I spent the next couple of hours glued to the television and trying to reach my husband.

He was out on a concrete job and didn’t have a cell phone, so I couldn’t get a hold of him. Finally, I couldn’t stand it any longer and I headed for Dallas, driving way faster than I should have, to pick up my daughter. There were reports that Dallas might also be targeted and I wanted her home with us. All the way there, I cried and prayed for those affected, not knowing my own niece was just blocks away, headed for the WTC, at the time it happened.

In retrospect, I shouldn’t have pulled my daughter out of school for two days, but like most of the rest of the nation I felt a little panicked and very much shaken. After I got her home, I sat down and poured my emotions out in a poem. That poem ended up in our local newspaper, sponsored by most of the businesses in our small town, in a full page spread.

Today, as we remember those who were lost and those who so bravely fought to save them, here is that poem. Let us never forget.

Freedom 911

A moment forever frozen in time

In all of our hearts and all of our minds

As we watched with horror what a few evil men

Can do with hatred and evil intent.

So many emotions filled us that day

Stunned disbelief, anguish, anger, and pain.

Our minds as clouded as New York’s city streets

We could only pray and tremble and weep.

We waited for news of loved ones so dear

And listened to stories of bravery and fear.

We cried with the mothers and fathers and wives

We grieve for the children who want to know why.

How can we answer their questions when we,

as adults never dreamed how evil mankind could be?

So we hold our own close, so glad they are safe

And ask God to surround them with angels each day.

Then we lift our heads high and stand firm and tall

As we proclaim to the world that our country won’t fall.

We stand united, red, black, white and brown.

And say you can’t keep America down.

We’ll see these men punished for what they have done,

No stone left unturned till we’ve found every one.

We’ll pray for our soldiers as they fight and they win,

Then we’ll put it behind us and build once again.

But we’ll never forget the ones who were lost

in airplanes and buildings, we’ve counted the cost.

We’ll mourn and grieve the heroes once more,

and emerge even stronger than ever before.

God bless America, this land of the free

May you always reign righteous and always believe

In the Almighty God who holds us upright

And ever continue, for our freedom, to fight.

Tori

About Tori Scott

Author, former Golden Heart finalist, published by Red Sage, in Woman's World, and selected news media. I live near Dallas Texas and write sexy romantic comedy, contemporary small-town romance, and romantic suspense.
This entry was posted in Tori's Posts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to A Day of Remembrance

  1. Mona Risk says:

    Beautiful post Tori. I am in an Internet cafe and finally able to read emails. On 9/11we were on a highway traveling from Fl to Oh. My son called and said America is under attack. I panicked as my young cousin worked for a company on the 18th floor of the WTC. Thank God he made it on time. My uncle, then a VP for his company had an office on the 82th floor. He was supposed to meet important clients at 9 am. But he got sick on his way and had to stop at a fast food for the restroom. He called and delayed the meeting to 9:30. His secretary and the son of his boss were already there. The young man ran through the stairs. The middle aged secretary never made it, poor woman. My daughter was then a medical resident in Washington. For three days she had to stay at her hospital to take care of wounded from the Pentagon. It’s a day we’ ll never forget.

    Like

  2. leighmorgan1 says:

    Disbelief was my first reaction. I still remember the beauty of the day here, the bright blues sky in NY coming on my TV as the tape of the planes hitting again and again played over and over. Despair, began as the reality that the world had just shifted on its axis set in.

    My son was two then and still in diapers. He’s fourteen now and a High School Freshman. What strikes me today is the fact that he doesn’t remember the world before 9-11. He doesn’t remember a world where getting on a plane was fun and relatively easy, where liberty and clarity of government purpose was vital to a free and prosperous society, a world where fear didn’t trump right action. In short, he’s never known a world where we haven’t been at war, albiet not on our soil. The fact that it is not on our soil makes it easier to ignore that fact that Americans are still dying every day and we are still in Afghanistan.

    It would be a tribute to those who have served, those who continue to do so and to those who are looking at serving, like my son, that we remember American lives have consistently been given since that fateful day a dozen years ago. The question should be asked when will these wars will be over. When will our warriors come home? It’s time to grow our nation again into a place families prosper socially and economically, without the constant threat of continuous and never-ending conflict.

    We all want our people home.

    Like

    • Tori Scott says:

      That is so true, Leigh. And now with the Syria thing looming over us, I have to wonder if we will ever see peace again in our lifetime. My nephew who is in the Navy calls it Vietnam 2.0 and says we’ll see the draft return if we get involved.

      Like

  3. What a wonderful and moving poem, Tori! Beautiful way to remember the event.

    Like

  4. Carol says:

    Beautiful and stirring, Tori. This day is sad for everyone.

    Like

  5. Jill James says:

    Tori, there are no words, you’ve said them all. I was home asleep when my husband called to tell me to turn on the TV. He was a cop so he would sometimes make the news and would tell me to watch. I asked, what channel? He screamed, it doesn’t matter. all of them. My son was in the fifth grade. He woke up and came downstairs when he heard me crying after watching the planes hit the WTC. He is twenty-three now and in the Army.

    Like

  6. susanrhughes says:

    Lovely poem. It hardly seems like 12 years ago. Up here in Canada, we were shocked, horrified, and scared too, since we didn’t know how far-reaching the attacks would be or how long it would go on. I was at work that morning and everyone in the office was glued to the CNN website for updates. I was very emotional and I didn’t get much done that day. We didn’t feel safe for some time after that.

    Like

  7. Tori Scott says:

    Thanks for the comments everyone!

    Like

  8. Joan Reeves says:

    Torii, I guess we all experienced the same emotions. Each anniversary finds me experiencing all of that again. Thanks for a wonderful post.

    Like

Please Leave a Reply

