It’s Alligator Season – Again!

Alligator 091913

Here in Louisiana alligator season is open.

This eleven foot, nine inch monster was taken from a pond behind my son’s camp.  Look at the size of that head.

Scary.

This is a protected species and you need a special license to hunt them.  What do you hunt them with?  A chicken on a hook.  They swallow the chicken, whole of course, and then the ‘hunter’ pulls them out of the water and shoots them in the top of the head.  Several times if they are smart.

Alligators can run and you don’t want one to jump out of the water aiming for you at twenty miles per hour.  I’m sure that I would have a heart attack if that ever happened to me.  LOL

What do hunters do with the alligator?  We sell them to a processor.  Remember ‘Romancing the Stone’?  Alligator boots are quite expensive, for a reason.

And in Louisiana, alligator tail meat is delicious.  Generally served fried, it does taste a little like chicken.  It is served in restaurants, so if you ever see it on the menu, give it a try.

That’s what’s happening in our small town, at least for a few more days and then the season closes for this year.

About Pepper Phillips

Writer of Sassy Southern Romance Novels
This entry was posted in Pepper's Posts and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to It’s Alligator Season – Again!

  1. leighmorgan1 says:

    The head alone gave me chills. Scary doesn’t quite cover it. YIKES!

    Like

  2. The one they caught last year was the same size. That sucker started to roll pulling my two sons into the pond before they were able to shoot it. Thank heavens they do have a hunting season.

    Like

  3. susanrhughes says:

    Not sure I’m adventurous enough to eat it, but you neve know.

    Like

  4. Jill James says:

    I guess if I can eat frog legs I can try gator. LOL That sucker is scary looking.

    Like

  5. Tori Scott says:

    This is why I don’t live in Louisiana! Though these things are starting to show up in Texas lakes and ponds, too–which is why I no longer swim in the lake. Yikes.

    Like

  6. I ate alligator meat in chili when I lived in Beaumont, Texas (near the border with Louisiana). Hard to tell what it tasted like with all those chili spices mixed in, but it wasn’t bad. More than once we heard news stories about people being killed by gators. I guess they got just a little too close! They’re scary critters.

    Like

  7. monarisk says:

    There was an alligator in the pool of the complex where we spent a week vacation in Hilton Head, SC, years ago. No one knew how it ended there. We tried to keep the kids away but they all wanted to see the gator. Apparently I was the only one scared.

    Like

  8. Joan Reeves says:

    I was born and reared in Louisiana so alligators are just a fact of life, but because they aren’t hunted much anymore, their population has increased. My nephew, a deputy sheriff, killed one a few years ago that was more than 14ft. A total monster.

    I’ve lived in Texas for most of my adult life. Because so many people have moved here from locations that don’t have alligators, they found gators exotic and exciting and fed them much as one would feed ducks. Consequently, in many subdivisions that have creeks and manmade lakes, the gator population has become dangerous. Now there are signs posted everywhere: “Do NOT feed the alligators.”

    Like

  9. Pingback: Adventure & Romance – Romancing the Stone | Karavansara

Please Leave a Reply

