Breaking Perfect…The Arc Of A Story

ImageI’m a huge fan of AMC’s Breaking Bad for so many reasons–cinematography, the acting, the writing, the characterization…but what has been perfect is the story arc.

A pet peeve for me when reading books or watching TV or movies is when a character is not faithful to his arc.

The beginning of an arc is when a writer or director (creator) initiates a relationship with the reader/viewer (consumer). There is a set up that hints at story potential and the twists and turns that keep us reading and watching. Another term for this is trust. The creator is asking the consumer to trust them for the duration of the journey…and the creator is already ahead of the game because the consumer is a willing participant. He wants to trust.

It is then up to the creator to use literary and visual finesse to support the set up–the first part of the arc–and maintain it to a satisfying conclusion.

We all know the frustration when a character goes inexplicably off the rails. We tend to throw those books at the wall (or turn the channel)  and gnash our teeth at the time and money wasted. Our trust has been exploited. Pah!

Image

Not so with Breaking Bad. The story arc was so satisfying. From the first moment, the creator (I want to be Vince Gilligan in the next life) set up the character and life of Walter White, and from then on, feathered in emotional subtleties with the deftest touch that hinted, foreshadowed, and yet still shocked utterly. The very last episode was a payoff in Walter White’s story–not a cheap attempt at something dramatic or coy to cover a weak story.

As I was riveted through five seasons, I was always trying to get a bead on that story arc skill. I want readers to trust me when I take them on my writerly journey. I want them to feel they can trust me to not cheapen the experience or make them feel they were played. I want to make them care.

Image

If you haven’t watched Breaking Bad, be warned. It is dark, rough, it peers into the grimy shadows of the human soul (and forces you to peer into yours) and is beautifully shot and acted. But it’s also an example of a perfect story arc.

Trust is a beautiful thing.

About bellastreet

Living so close to Nashville has provoked Bella to take up fiddle lessons. Until her tunes no longer sound like amorous alley cats, she writes romance with a touch of weird. Visit her at www.bellastreetwrites.blogspot.com
This entry was posted in Bella's Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Breaking Perfect…The Arc Of A Story

  1. Jill James says:

    Have never watched Breaking Bad although everyone tells my husband he looks just like the main character. LOL

    Like

  2. Carol says:

    I haven’t watched Breaking Bad, but you make me want to catch it next season! I agree that trust is a beautiful thing. In everything.

    Like

  3. leighmorgan1 says:

    I haven’t seen it Bella, but now I just might!

    Like

  4. susanrhughes says:

    Everyone is talking about it but I haven’t seen it. It just doesn’t appeal to me.

    Like

  5. susanrhughes says:

    I should add that your article tempts me to give it a try. A nicely written post.

    Like

  6. monarisk says:

    I’ve never watched that show, but it seems great from your description.

    Like

  7. Joan Reeves says:

    One of my s-i-l’s is a big Breaking Bad fan. Everything you said, Bella, is what my s-i-l says. I guess I’ve never wanted to watch it because of the premise: upstanding science teacher, faced with cancer, needs/wants money so he starts a meth lab. The rest is his descent into the criminal life. I guess I just don’t like watching a train wreck. *g*

    Like

Please Leave a Reply

