The Chill of an Early Fall

Yes, I’ve been listening to George Strait lately. But that song title fits Texas right now. This is what we call State Fair weather. Chilly mornings that require a sweater or sweatshirt, warm afternoons where you can be comfortable in shorts, cool evenings that will put you back in jeans or sweats. You almost have to carry a change of clothes with you if you’ll be out all day.

We Texans live for State Fair weather. After something like 50 days of temps in the high nineties to low hundreds, we’re ready for the chill. But not winter. Not yet.

Speaking of the State Fair, it’s going on right now. If you’ve never been to the State Fair of Texas, you’ve missed a treat. Like everything else in Texas, we do it up big. We have a permanent Fair Park that is open year round, with museums, the aquarium, music hall, and Science Place, but for two weeks in September, the park comes alive with rides, food (fried EVERYTHING, from Twinkies to peanut butter, jelly, and banana sandwiches and the famous State Fair Corny Dog), music, car shows, quilts, crafts, animals, rodeos, and the Texas-OU football game.

DSC_5675 DSC_5704 DSC_5747

And then there’s Big Tex. He’s an icon in Texas. Last year, the day after we visited the fair, he caught on fire and burned up. But he’s back this year, newly redesigned but close to the original.

DSC_5694

You can walk yourself silly, eat until you pop, or shop until you drop. You can spend a little or a lot. You can learn about all kinds of things, or just ride the rides from open to close. It’s a magical place for young children, and can be an exhausting one for adults. But it’s definitely an experience not to be missed.

DSC_5790 DSC_5749

I’ve been going to the State Fair since I was ten years old. (We won’t discuss how old I am now, but I was 9 when JFK was assassinated).  Hubby and I had our second date at the fair. I was there two days before my second child was born (with a twenty-one-month-old in tow.) I went just before I had cancer surgery. I’ve been there with my parents, my children, and my grandchildren.

Is there a special place or event that holds great memories for you, or a tradition for your family? Is there something you especially love about fall?

 

About Tori Scott

Author, former Golden Heart finalist, published by Red Sage, in Woman's World, and selected news media. I live near Dallas Texas and write sexy romantic comedy, contemporary small-town romance, and romantic suspense.
This entry was posted in Tori's Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to The Chill of an Early Fall

  1. leighmorgan1 says:

    Your State Fair sounds magical, Tori. Can’t wait for the photos.

    Like

  2. susanrhughes says:

    That sounds like a lot of fun. Too bad it’s just too darn far to go for me.

    Like

  3. Jill James says:

    I’ve always wanted to go to our State Fair. We do have a county fair in our town that is fun. They have the 4H kids with their animals and quilts, and paintings, and desserts done by local people.

    Like

  4. Like you, I experienced the State Fair of Texas starting as a kid in elementary school, and I went every year for ages! My friends and I would usually go to “the buildings” first (the Hall of State, Women’s Building, Museum of Natural History, Automobile Building, etc.) The Women’s Building was our favorite because the vendors often offered free samples of food! Then we’d head to the Midway for rides on the Tilt-a-Whirl, Himalaya, Wild Mouse, and Comet — a huge wooden roller coaster.
    Your post brought back so many fond memories of that autumn tradition. Thank you!

    Like

  5. monarisk says:

    Thanks for sharing your State Fair, Tori. I don’t even know if we have one in South Florida. But we have a Winter Fest with decorated boats parading along the Intracoastal Canal at night on the second weekend of December and the Air Show in May. These are two events we love to watch.

    Like

  6. Carol says:

    Love George Strait. You make me want to spend vacation in Texas at the Fair. I missed ours in Georgia again this year and I’m only about 5 miles from the grounds. I understand Loretta Lynn was there. Love to have seen her.

    Like

  7. Tori Scott says:

    Sandra, I rode all the same rides. Love the Food Pavilion and the Women’s building, the car show and the animals. We did the same, visiting buildings, usually riding nearby rides in between. And eating. Oh my goodness, the food. It’s so much more expensive now. When I was a kid, $20 would last me all day. Now I’d need a pre-paid credit card with at least $200 on it. 🙂

    Like

  8. Tori Scott says:

    Oh, and let’s don’t forget the salt-water taffy. Can’t leave the fair without a box.

    Like

  9. Eons ago I went there on a high school class trip. I still remember the magic of it!

    Like

  10. The state fair sounds like a glamorous country kind of event – one I’ve never experienced but you hear about it, read about it in books, see it in movies. It’s a part of the American culture that I definitely feel deprived of – it’s just not part of the picture up in the northeast.
    Closest thing I went to was the Words Fair in NYC in 1964. It was spectacular and full of futuristic stuff–no animals. Loved it though.
    I guess when I was a kid, my ‘state fair’ would have been the annual trips to the museum of natural history and central park in NYC. Fun days.

    Like

  11. E. Ayers says:

    I’m so glad they rebuilt Big Tex. I saw the video of him burning – so sad!

    I don’t do the state fair in Virginia, but I’ve been part of the Isle of Wight, Virginia, County Fair for 20 years! It takes a huge amount of planning and work to make a great fair and we are tiny compared to Texas!

    Maybe one day, I’ll get there. Got a place for me to park my teardrop camper? LOL

    Like

Please Leave a Reply

