Counting My Blessings by Susan R. Hughes

canadianthanksgivingLast Monday was Thanksgiving here in Canada. Time to count my blessings—which I should really do more often than once a year. I spend far too much time bemoaning the things I don’t have and forget to be thankful for what I have.

1)      Family – not just the husband and kids but my parents, sister, in-laws and extended family. They are extremely supportive and generous. Not a bad apple among them.

2)      Health – I’ve been lucky not to have many problems so far. May it continue!

3)      Friends – I don’t have a large group of friends, but the ones I have are the best I’ve ever had. Loyal and caring, fun and tolerant of my quirks!

4)      Living in a prosperous country – my standard of living is modest; my dreams of European vacations and a brand-new kitchen are beyond reach at the moment. But let’s face it, I’m better off than most people in the world. My own ancestors would’ve worked a lot harder than I do for a lot less. Most of us take our modern comforts for granted.

5)      The opportunity to express myself through writing – I complain about slow sales and those occasional unflattering reviews, but really, diving into publishing has been an awesome experience. Beyond the thrill of having my work read and enjoyed by complete strangers, I’ve been able to connect with other authors who understand the ups and downs of the business. The occasional glowing reviews make it all worthwhile.

Happy belated Thanksgiving to my fellow Canadians, and may my American friends have many blessings to count for their Thanksgiving next month.

About susanrhughes

Susan R. Hughes is a USA Today bestselling author of contemporary and historical romance. She lives in Ottawa, Ontario, with her husband and three children.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Counting My Blessings by Susan R. Hughes

  1. Susan, lovely post about appreciating what we have! I’m truly grateful to share the indie publishing experience with you and our Main Street Blog group. It’s been fun, enlightening & exciting with our new boxed-set project. It’s a comfort to know you all are out there with me!

    Like

  2. monarisk says:

    What a nice post, Susan. Yes we are blessed. That’s exactly what I was telling myself last night while playing with my granddaughters and enjoying those precious moments.
    I look at the new heading on our blog. It’s gorgeous. We are lucky that E. has created such a beautiful book cover.

    Like

  3. Carol says:

    Susan, your post is inspiring. We could be more thankful for everything. I’m grateful for a wonderful life also. Things could be much worse. I can’t wait for our boxed set to be live! Thankful for all the ladies involved.

    Like

  4. Joan Reeves says:

    Loved your post, Susan. No one is ever as appreciative as they should be. I remember when my daughter was in high school, one of her assignments was to keep a gratitude journal. That was such an amazing experience because it noticeably tempered her teenage angst. *g* I think a writing gratitude journal might make all of us more serene.

    Like

  5. We are a very lucky bunch indeed. This writing life/career can be so challenging and it helps to have such a supportive and wonderful group to turn to for encouragement and assistance when needed. Happy Thanksgiving!

    Next month in the USA Thanksgiving and Hanukah are on the same day…imagine all of the good vibes the world will feel on that day! 🙂

    Like

  6. Jill James says:

    Susan, great post. I’m so glad to have all of you to share this journey with.

    Like

  7. I enjoyed your post. Yes, we’re lucky to have so many things to be thankful for. Thank you for reminding me to express my gratitude more often.

    Like

  8. E. Ayers says:

    Having great family, is a wonderful plus in anyone’s life. Always count the good things. That’s what really matters!

    Like

  9. leighmorgan1 says:

    Happy Thanksgiving, Susan! What a great post. Focusing on what we have to be thankful for seems to flip a switch for me…I just feel lighter. Your post left me smiling and warmer for your kind and giving energy. Thanks!

    Like

  10. susanrhughes says:

    Thank you everyone for your uplifting comments.

    Like

Please Leave a Reply

