North and South

???????????????????????????????

Florida Romance Writers Super Saturday, sitting on a panel, next to Heather Graham.

No, I am not talking about the Civil War, although I used to enjoy romance novels set during that period, particularly those of Heather Graham, my favorite historical author twenty years ago.

IMG_6690

South is where I live, close to the Ocean, my favorite view.

North is where I used to live most of my life and where I raised my children. Another time another life. How I managed to juggle work, children, their activities, my gym, cooking, cleaning, and on occasions taking classes to advance my career– with a husband who traveled fifty percent of the time and was absent during all our emergencies– is beyond me. I was young and energetic.
???????????????????????????????

Last week, I was back North to visit my grandchildren. They are making it a tradition to invite before Halloween to admire their costumes, enjoy their decorations, and watch the foliage. It was a delightful week with delightful children. They kept me busy and I was so happy to be useful.

???????????????????????????????

Other than the above, the highlights of my trip included a visit to the gym and another to karate.
Lying down with each child before they slept was my favorite time. I felt like a mom again.

???????????????????????????????

Of course, there was no time to read email, write a new scene, edit a manuscript, or promote a book. Forget it. The previous were replaced with preparing chocolate milk and pancake for breakfast, walking to the bus stop, playing monopoly, supervising homework. Although I was flabbergasted by how these kids do their math, I mean additions and multiplications, on a laptop. And they trained me on how to use my iPad. Oh God, I feel so old and so out-of-it when I remember we had to memorize multiplication tables!

Amazing how the best joys are the simple ones. How a child’s smile is all I needed to be happy.

What are your greatest joys in life?

Christmas Wedding Muddle  Box Set
If you like to travel and love to read, come and enjoy my international romances. I will take you around the world with stories that simmer with emotion and sizzle with passion.

Try my latest Christmas ebook, a hilarious and sweet romance, set on a cruise to Spain and Italy.

This entry was posted in Mona's Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to North and South

  1. susanrhughes says:

    At the moment I am unable to feel joy. I have a terrilble head cold. If that’s not enough to make me grouchy, I had to scrape frost off my windshield this morning! But … there is a delicious beef curry waiting in the fridge for supper. Right now joy = yummy leftovers.

    Like

  2. Jill James says:

    I love when my grandson comes to visit and we go to the movies and out to lunch. He gets so excited over the littlest of things like a gum ball machine toy or a cookie with lunch.

    Like

  3. Tori Scott says:

    I only have one grandchild left who isn’t a teenager, but then I’ve always enjoyed the teenage years. Though I live in the south, I would dearly love to live near the ocean.

    Like

  4. monarisk says:

    Teenagers are delightful. I remember my children at that age. We were such good friends. I loved to hear about their fun, dating, parties, and their dreams and difficulties.

    Like

  5. leighmorgan1 says:

    The ocean photo is beautiful; it must be a magical place to live. Love the karate photos…wish I were so limber! Love those Heather Graham historicals from the Revolutionary war and the Civil war. Your Christmas story sounds fantastic. Can’t wait to read it!

    Like

  6. monarisk says:

    I can’t forget, One Wore Blue, and One Wore Gray, and One Rode West, from Heather Graham… My little girls are amazing … but then I am a very partial grandma!

    Like

  7. Carol says:

    Aren’t grandchildren the absolute best? I’m like a kid in a candy store when my grandson visits. He’s getting older now and a bit quieter with all the tech items keeping him entertained. But, his eyes still light up when he comes through our door. A lump never fails to form in my throat as he hugs me tight and says, “I love you Nana.” Priceless. Can’t wait to read your new book!

    Like

  8. Joan Reeves says:

    Sounds as if you had a wonderful Halloween visit. That sounds like a nice tradition to start. Good luck with your Christmas book. Cute cover.

    Like

Please Leave a Reply

