It’s Almost Here…Are You Ready?

So many things are happening at once that I’m feeling a bit overwhelmed. The recently released Christmas on Main Street Collection. The soon to be released Sweetwater Springs Christmas Anthology, which includes my first ever attempt at writing something historical. My own soon to be released book, #5 in the Lone Star Cowboys series.

Since this past June, I’ve had so much going on that sometimes I don’t know if I’m coming or going. Thanksgiving is just around the corner, and I have no idea if we’re having it at my house or if we’re going elsewhere. But the stores don’t really want me to think too much about that. That isn’t where the real money is. They want me to think about…CHRISTMAS! Even before Halloween got here, the decorations were out. The toy aisles were rearranged, expanded, and overflowing with toys.

WAIT! I’m not ready. Not yet. I’m still trying to figure out how I’m going to decorate my house this year with a rambunctious, mannerless Great Dane puppy in residence. (Not mine, my daughter’s.) It’s already destroyed two couches, an ottoman, a live indoor tree, my favorite sweatshirt, the silver necklace hubby gave me for Christmas two years ago, several pillows, a quilt, dishes (that she knocked off the counter and broke), and my arms, which look like I’ve been in a battle with barbed wire.

Merlin

Don’t let that sweet, innocent face fool you. This is from three months ago. She’s now three feet taller, thirty pounds heavier, and runs like a race horse. Through the house, through the yard, through my office… Oh, and did I mention her name is Merlin? Hmmm, maybe that’s why she’s such a devil.

Where can I put the tree that she won’t destroy it? Or the presents? What about my stuffed snowmen? My breakable display pieces? How will I put out a brunch buffet Christmas morning, as is our tradition? What do I do about my son and his girlfriend who are coming home for Christmas, when the dog has taken over my house and leaves a trail of destruction behind her?

Thank goodness that cup of coffee she knocked over on my desk didn’t land on my laptop. You’d have heard me scream all the way from Texas.

The day after Thanksgiving? Yeah, I’ll start thinking about Christmas then. Not before. Until then, I have a book to finish.

What about you? Have you started shopping already? Got your decorations up? When do you start thinking about Christmas?

If you need help getting in the mood for the holidays, grab your copy of Christmas on Main Street by the Authors of Main Street, on sale now.

AoMSX 800x500 S The Christmas Wish by Tori Scott S

About Tori Scott

Author, former Golden Heart finalist, published by Red Sage, in Woman's World, and selected news media. I live near Dallas Texas and write sexy romantic comedy, contemporary small-town romance, and romantic suspense.
This entry was posted in Tori's Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to It’s Almost Here…Are You Ready?

  1. susanrhughes says:

    Super cute puppy. No, I’m not ready. Just trying to adjust to the sudden cold snap here.

    Like

  2. leighmorgan1 says:

    First snow here on Monday. So NOT ready. I don’t want to think about Yule until after Thanksgiving ~ probably my favorite official holiday. We’re thinking of a puppy soon since the passing of my Deerhound, Somerled. It’s been quite a while since we’ve had a puppy in the house…judging from your experience, I’m not ready for that either! 😉

    Like

  3. Jill James says:

    Hard to get all Christmas-y feeling when it is 75 outside and everyone is in t-shirts and shorts. LOL We have the DIL’s 2 cats this year and we are trying to figure out the tree situation too. 🙂

    Like

  4. monarisk says:

    No I am far from thinking about Christmas, except when I write, edit, format, upload and promote Christmas books. My children will be here for Thanksgiving and that will be the big celebration–in just one week. I’m not ready for them either. Oh God, I need to fix my office that I will be giving away as bedroom. I need to organize my apartment. I need to cook. I need an aspirin for my growing headache…

    Like

  5. Carol says:

    No I’m not ready for any of the holidays. Don’t have a puppy in the house, still other issues keep me from concentrating. Need to share aspirin with Mona!

    Like

Please Leave a Reply

