Feeling Nostalgic

ImageMaybe it’s that time of year for opening your heart and seeking warmth. Maybe this side of me got jump-started by all the truly touching holiday stories in the Authors of Main Street Christmas bundle. Maybe it’s watching my parents age and wanting them to be content and have someone to share their lives with. Whatever the reason, I’m finding this side of me bleeding into my writing.

Young love, love uncomplicated by other significant relationships both past and present, like young children or multiple ex’s, is all about passion and exploring the possibility of permanence, and passion again. Eyes are on the future and building a unit. While not necessarily easy to write, it usually forms the basis for most romance.

Secondary characters are allowed to explore mid-life romance, with all its complications; children, whether still in the home or grown, significant prior romantic relationships, character foibles or flaws that come as a result of life and the choices we make trying to make a living. Many times these budding relationships are fraught with humor, caution, and if one is writing romance, passion whenever we can fit it in. I find these characters and their situations interesting and fun to write. They, like me, still remember the wildness of first love and all the drama that goes with it. Time doesn’t mute the memory, but it does provide distance and the ability to smile at the good parts and hopefully let the rest go. While new love looks to the future here as well, it cannot escape what has come before because it has led to the formation of who these characters are now.

This year for me has been one spent thinking of my parents. They are not young. And although they have their children and grandchildren as well as a few good friends, neither has a companion to kiss good-night, hold hands with during the day, and sit quietly reading by the fire with on these ever cooling evenings. I don’t know if they are lonely, I can only project how I may feel in their circumstance onto them. I’d be lonely. I’d want someone to hold and be held by at night. I’d want a friend to laugh with and kiss who wouldn’t cringe at the thought of seeing me naked. For characters of this age, love isn’t about the future or the past, it’s about the now. In some ways now is the only time that matters. It’s hard for me to write about passion between characters I see as “grandparently” in the octogenarian sense, but I hope I still feel passion at that age as long as I have someone to share that part of my life with. It’s these characters, for whatever reason, that keep whispering to me, calling, however quietly, to be seen on the page.

Image

Maybe nostalgia is why I wrote A Potters Woods Christmas, my short story in the Authors of Main Street Christmas bundle. I wanted to revisit Potters Woods and all the characters who populate it again. The founders of my alternative elder care facility are grandparents now, decades older than when they first met in Sparring Partners when they were already well into their lives. Reed and Jordon are still very much in love and very vital in A Potters Woods Christmas. I’ll visit them again when their grandchildren are grown, and while I won’t be writing scenes dripping with sensuality between them then, I hope to share their bone-deep connection on the page until it’s time for them to pass into the otherworld, hopefully in each other’s arms.

Here’s a song that makes me hopeful there is romance, companionship and love to be had at any age. I hope it brings a smile to you, as it always does for me. “Life’s too short for ‘ifs’ and ‘might have beens’”, so find the connections, my friends. It’s never too late.

Until then, pick up your copy of our bundle and fall in love. Happy Holidays!

Leigh

This entry was posted in Leigh's Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Feeling Nostalgic

  1. I definitely relate to the not wanting to be lonely, especially this time of year, which is filled spending time with family and those you love! I look forward to reading your story A POTTERS WOODS CHRISTMAS, and hope your season is filled with much love and happiness.

    Like

    • leighmorgan1 says:

      Thanks, Hope! I hope your season is also filled with every happiness and much love. I have a link in the text to the full Christmas bundle … it’s a great read for the holiday season! Check it out 🙂

      Like

  2. Reblogged this on Kelly Rae & Jocelyn Bell Books and commented:
    Leigh Morgan is one of the Authors of Main Street who is also in our Christmas on Main Street boxed set. She is a lovely person and writer and here is a chance to get to know her a bit better.

    It’s a great day for the group as we are soaring on the Amazon lists, picking up traction over at Barnes & Noble and even better we all broke into the TOP 100 Author Ranks on Amazon as of this morning! A lot to celebrate for this little group that thought they could and now ARE!!

    Have a lovely Day!
    Kelly Rae

    Like

    • leighmorgan1 says:

      Wow, thanks, Kelly! I’m glad we’re doing so well on all the lists and I’m looking forward to creating a new story if we do it again! Thank you for your kind words and for your blog! You made me day 🙂

      Like

  3. susanrhughes says:

    What a lovely cover!

    Like

  4. E. Ayers says:

    I haven’t had time to read everyone’s story, but I can’t wait to read yours. My grandmother fell madly in love at age 73 and they got married. They were probably worse than love-struck teenagers. The ability to love doesn’t expire after a certain age.

    Like

    • leighmorgan1 says:

      Oh…I love this E! My Christmas story doesn’t show the founders of Potters Woods in their 70’s, but the full from that story which will take place about ten years later will. I’m seeing these relationships and getting a glimpse into their depth more and more these days so I want to see them on the page too. Whether that’s love newly discovered like your grandmother, or re-discovered from youth like in Last Tango in Halifax, or whether it’s seeing a long-term relationship evolve and deepen over decades. I never want to let go of the promise of finding that kind of love at every stage in life. Thank you for your grandmother’s story. If you wish, I’ll name a character after her. The strongest, most beautiful older woman I know is approaching 80 and still has a naughty twinkle in her eye and the kindest most gracious heart. Her name is Maureen, so I’ll be creating a character based on her for sure!

      Like

  5. Carol says:

    Your cover is beautiful! There’s a lot of truth in what you’ve written about love at all ages. Funny how sweet young love changes over the ages. Great post.

    Like

    • leighmorgan1 says:

      Thanks, Carol! It is funny and touching to me how that first heat grows into soft touches and warm smiles and more bone-deep caring. I’ve been thinking about that a lot lately and so I guess I’m seeing it more too. :). Have a wonderful Holiday!

      Like

Please Leave a Reply

