Inspiration for a book

My contribution to CHRISTMAS ON MAIN STREET, a big box set of 11 stories by 11 authors, was a sweet comedy novel set on a cruise at Christmastime.box set

HER CHRISTMAS CRUISE

What should Julia do when she catches her fiancé cheating on her with his receptionist a week before their fabulous Christmas wedding and honeymoon cruise in Spain and Italy?

Of course, sHer Christmas Cruise smallhe calls off her wedding to the unfaithful doctor. Tony, the nice clerk at the travel agency, does his best to console her. Going on a would-be honeymoon cruise alone is not fun. Rather than wasting a non refundable ticket, Julia invites him to come along on the cruise.

Tony Lorenzo is actually a successful psychiatrist who was only substituting for the travel agent. A cruise with the lovely Julia is a Christmas gift he can’t refuse. Even if at the moment she hates all doctors, Tony believes the magic of Christmas will bring them together.

Readers often ask me what inspired me to write a particular holiday story. For HER CHRISTMAS CRUISE, it all started on a cruise ship.

???????????????????????????????We were cruising in the North Atlantic toward Iceland and I got sick– I mean really sick with a bronchitis– from day one. Luckily I’ve brought the right medicines with me and I was determined to have a good time and relax.

Since I couldn’t brave the cold wind and low temperatures I spent a lot of time indoors and visited the beautiful ship thoroughly. The idea of setting a romance story on a ship started while I strolled through the long corridors and climbed to the various decks. I ???????????????????????????????wrote the whole first draft during the cruise. It was ideal for research.

Christmas is a beautiful time that holds fond memories for me. When my children were growing up we had wonderful Christmas reunions at my parents’ house. My mother cooked and baked for two weeks for no less than fifty people, children and grandchildren, sisters, brothers, in-laws, and a few good friends. My parents’ house was not big, but cozy and warm and so full of love and laughter. The children played and sled in the snowy hill behind the backyard. The adults played cards and cracked jokes. Oh yes it was a beautiful time that I try to reproduce now for my children and grandchildren.

But Christmastime also holds sad memories like the Christmas after my father’s death. He died in November and he had already planned to have the same celebration. He didn’t make it. But the whole family wanted to be with my mother. She was still wearing her black mourning clothes and spent the whole time crying and remembering. We did our best to cheer her up but we knew it would never be the same as before.

In addition to a fun Christmas story, HER CHRISTMAS CRUISE, that is part of CHRISTMAS ON MAIN STREET, I wrote a Christmas story with sad memories, AN UNUSUAL CHRISTMAS, that is bundled in CHRISTMAS HERE AND THERE.

Xmas Here and There5 - Trimmed

AN UNUSUAL CHRISTMAS. The story is set in Belarus where I used to travel for business to refurbish laboratories in a different life.

Dr. Jillian is always running away to the end of the world to avoid Christmas celebrations and the sad reminders of her dead son. But in Belarus, a baby girl, four little boys, and a handsome doctor will teach her the true meaning of Christmas.

If you like to travel and love to read, come and enjoy my international romances. Meet the spirited heroines and the alpha heroes who share irresistible chemistry in stories that simmer with emotion and sizzle with heat.

This entry was posted in Mona's Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Inspiration for a book

  1. leighmorgan1 says:

    Wow, Mona, what a way to make the best out of an illness. Writing an entire first draft on vacation cruise is pretty inspiring! I can’t wait to read her Christmas Cruise. Hope your holidays and filled with love, adventure (if you want it) and health 😉

    Like

    • monarisk says:

      Thank you Leigh. All I want now is calm and relaxation which I am not going to have. Instead it will be fun and chaos at Thanksgiving as my children and grandchildren are coming, a good chaos with a lot of noise and fun.

      Like

  2. Carol says:

    Mona, you really are an inspiration in yourself! I hope your Thanksgiving is relaxing and wonderful. Enjoy your family!

    Like

  3. Pingback: I Believe in Father Christmas | THE SCARECROW

Please Leave a Reply

