Thankful for the Turkey and other Thoughts by Stephanie Queen

Myren's idea of Thanksgiving Turkey (kidding)

Myren’s idea of Thanksgiving Turkey (kidding)

Of course I’m thankful. Too bad about the turkey, but I love the American tradition of setting aside a day to give thanks. It’s particularly appropo for a country that has everything. Not that there aren’t some who could use more, but we’re a lucky lot just for living in the USA.

Don’t worry, I’m not going to go all patriotic-4th-of-July on you. I promise to keep my holidays straight.

Myren, my chauffeur and I will be feasting at my big family gathering. I told Myren he could have the day off but he told me I wasn’t about to cheat him out of a turkey dinner so of course he was staying. He might be outside right now running a turkey down. I saw him leaving out the back door with a turkey mating whistle and a hatchet. Oh, and he may have been carrying a bottle that looked like the one pictured here to the left. Not sure. It was all a blur.

So what am I thankful for? Besides my trusty chauffeur and my overly confident cat, I am thankful for all the people who read my books—most of all the ones who don’t know me and aren’t related to me. (I’m grateful for family and friends for an entirely different category of blessings.)

I’m grateful that I have a castle roof over my head, a pink velvet divan where I lounge write and soon a turkey in my plate, too.

My most prized blessings are my parents who still go to the gym every day in between Gun Smoke reruns, my healthy strong sons, my siblings, nieces, nephews, aunts, uncles, friends, cousins, once and twice removed and—well you get the picture. I have an abundance.  And I’m happy to say that I’m grateful every day.

Cheering at the parade for UConn Women's Basketball Championship

Cheering at the parade for UConn Women’s Basketball Championship

My most unusual blessing:  (aside from Myren, my chauffeur, who is not actually a drunk) Having UConn as my alma mater so I get to cheer for the most winning team in college sports history – the UConn Women’s Basketball team!  Yay Ra Ra!

I’d love to hear all about your most unusual blessings—don’t be shy!

Happy Thanksgiving to all of us!

This entry was posted in Stephanie's Posts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Thankful for the Turkey and other Thoughts by Stephanie Queen

  1. E. Ayers says:

    I am so thankful that I have the Authors of Main Street to call my friends. I’m also thankful for local friends who invite me to Thanksgiving dinner so I don’t spend it alone, and for all the other times during the year that they invite me for dinner. There’s something very special that happens when friends gather in a kitchen. Good food, good laughter, and most of all good friendship, there’s really no price tag on any of it. We truly are a lucky bunch of people.

    Like

  2. Reblogged this on Kelly Rae & Jocelyn Bell Books and commented:
    Getting thankful with the ladies of Main Street!

    Like

  3. Carol says:

    I agree that our most prized blessings are family members. Family and friends are treasures.

    Like

  4. leighmorgan1 says:

    I am thankful for everyone in my life, including all of you who are supportive and wonderful, even though we know one another only on the page. So I guess, I’m incredibly thankful for the page, my family, friends and everyone who spends time with the written word, especially our written words.

    Like

Please Leave a Reply

