Being Thankful

Excited? Yes! I am.
Christmas on Main Street is considered a best seller on Amazon! I’m thankful.
I’m also thankful for the ladies who walk down Main Street beside me. We’re from different states and from different walks of life. We aren’t different in that our love of writing drives us every day to push the pen and harvest characters and their stories for our beloved readers.
In this season of Thanksgiving, there is more than enough in our lives to give thanks.
Thanksgiving Day is more than sharing a meal.

It’s when family and friends gather for time together and recall past times spent in the presence of loved ones. Loved ones who are still with us and those who have gone on. I’m thankful for the time and love we shared.
I’m thankful for my family, they keep me strong.
Years ago I wrote a poem on love. There are many ways to look at love, but I suppose the words in the poem sums up what love means to me.

Love Is

Love is a misty rain;
The caress of a gentle breeze.
Glistening snowflakes;
A mountain in spring.
A glorious sunset;
Or in a summer’s sky.
A baby’s touch;
A soft voice.
It is yielding;
It is the moment just before dawn.
It carries no force;
It issues no pressure.
Love is mellow;
Ageless and unselfish.
It is wisdom;
With kindness.
It is forgiving;
Of imperfections.
It is the calm;
In the midst of a storm.
It is the quiet;
Of a hushed moment.
Love does not scold;
Nor rebuke.
It is majestic;
Not for the faint of heart.
It is tender;
Soft as a baby’s skin.
Trusting, honest;
Consuming and strong;
Love is
~Carol DeVaney

What are you thankful for? Anything special?

A Smoky Mountain Wedding – Book Two, coming soon.
My books are available at Barnes & Noble, Amazon, Kobo, Sony, Diesel, Apple and Smashwords.
You can find links on my website here. http://caroldevaney.weebly.com/my-books

About Carol

Carol falls in love with every character she writes in her books. She loves basing them on the good and the bad personalities that make up life. That's what makes them real. Carol feels as though she’s in a movie when visualizing characters and she jumps right onto the page with them. Often the theme of her books is forgiveness. Whether planned or not, forgiveness sneaks its way into her stories. That's okay, because Carol believes forgiving others is essential. She favors a great story, with slices of twists that cause her to reflect on the problems life throws at us and how we react. Carol believes in happy endings. Humor is a big part of her stories and daily routine, and yes, she laughs a lot! Travel is one of her favorite things to do. She dabbles in art, always has popcorn and hot chocolate on hand. Carol is a small-town girl at heart and her stories are peppered with a dose of humor, based on Southern roots. She currently resides in Georgia with her husband and family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Being Thankful

  1. Jill James says:

    Carol, lovely poem. I’m so glad and thankful I got to join the Authors of Main Street. I’m thankful my children and grandchild are healthy. I’m thankful for my best friend, my husband Patrick. I’m thankful my children have found their significant others.

    Like

  2. Carol says:

    Thank you, Jill! I, too, am thankful for everyone’s health and my son found a happy life. So many don’t. Happy your children are happy. Have a Happy Thanksgiving tomorrow.:)

    Like

  3. E. Ayers says:

    Beautiful poem. So difficult to describe love.
    I’m thankful for all my friends here on Main Street, the ones in cyberspace, and for my friends in my town.
    Sometimes it’s the little things in life that make the biggest difference. Always count the positives, especially on a day like today!
    Happy Thanksgiving to all my USA friends.

    Like

    • Carol says:

      E., love is hard to describe until I think of all the beautiful things in my life. I’ve always said, “It’s the little things that matter.” 🙂 When you find love, or it finds you, never let go. I hope this thanksgiving was special in all ways.

      Like

  4. leighmorgan1 says:

    Fantastic poem, Carol. Beautiful and resonating. I am very thankful this holiday season for everything wonderful in my life, most especially for my writing community that makes the days spent in the chair even more vibrant and fulfilling. Thank you, Authors of Main Street!

    Like

    • Carol says:

      Thank you, Leigh The poem was, of course, from my heart. It’s good to be among writing friends who not only understand what the life of a writer is like, but experience it firsthand themselves. Hope your Thanksgiving was wonderful.

      Like

Please Leave a Reply

