Characters That Cook

My newest release, Between Lonesome and Texas, is the 5th book in the Lone Star Cowboys series. My heroine, Mandy, has appeared in several of the previous books, first as a waitress at the local diner, and later as the cook at the Triple S ranch.

Unlike me, Mandy loves to cook. I can cook, but I don’t really enjoy it. Take me out to a restaurant and I’m a happy camper. Unfortunately, the hubby doesn’t like eating out. But because he loves me, he takes me out a couple of times a month. The rest of the time, I cook.

For Mandy, though, cooking is an expression of her soul. It’s how she shows people she cares about them. It’s also how she earns the money to try to make up for a terrible mistake she made as a teenager.

I’m not sure if Blake fell in love with Mandy or her cooking first. After a decade on the rodeo circuit, eating from food trucks and fast food joints, he thinks there just might be something to that old saying about the way to a man’s heart is through his stomach. But despite the fact that life on the road is a lonely one, he can’t imagine giving up his freedom for the chains of commitment.

In all of my books, a slice of real life creeps in. In this case, it’s in the form of a couple of family-favorite recipes. You can find them both at the end of the book. A hint: they are both desserts that will make the man in your life think you’ve slaved for hours in the kitchen, but are actually very easy to make.

So how do you feel about cooking? Love it? Hate it? Consider it something you just gotta do?

Check out Between Lonesome and Texas today, and let us know if you tried one of the recipes.

betweenlonesomeandtexas_B

      When you’re stuck somewhere between Lonesome and Texas, which way do you turn? In one direction lies freedom. In the other, love. Or is there a way to have both?

About Tori Scott

Author, former Golden Heart finalist, published by Red Sage, in Woman's World, and selected news media. I live near Dallas Texas and write sexy romantic comedy, contemporary small-town romance, and romantic suspense.
This entry was posted in Tori's Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Characters That Cook

  1. E. Ayers says:

    Oh, yummy! For years I cooked. I cooked breakfast, packed lunches, cooked dinner. Mostly from scratch, and a lot of it was from the garden. Pumpkin pie? First you pick the pumpkin…LOL Just for fun, I learned to mill my own flour. (It’s much easier to buy flour from the store.) My kids thought if they went to a friend’s house and got white bread out of a plastic wrapper that they were in heaven. (groan) Now they are impressed when someone makes something from scratch.

    Today, I don’t want to cook. I’ve never learned to cook for one! But when I married the only thing I had ever done in the kitchen was a few batches of chocolate chip cookies. If you can read, you can cook. Grab that recipe book and follow it carefully! I had been married not quite six months when I found a book on baking. It changed everything for me.

    Like

  2. leighmorgan1 says:

    What a great teaser, Tori! Can’t wait to read the book and find Mandy’s recipes :). I love to cook and to eat out…I guess I just love good food no matter where it comes from. I have my fingers crossed for chocolate recipes, but anything sweet will be wonderful! Congrats on your release.

    Like

  3. Carol says:

    I knew absolutely nothing about cooking when I married. It didn’t take long to learn though. Now, I don’t necessarily like cooking, but do so most every single day. If we eat out it’s quite a treat hamburger or delectable meal. Mandy’s story sounds interesting. Congrats on your newest book.

    Like

  4. Jill James says:

    I do not like to cook. I’m a baker. I’m much happier making cakes and cookies.

    Like

  5. Lucky for me, my husband loves to cook! No, we wouldn’t starve if I had to prepare our meals, but they wouldn’t be as delicious as his creations.
    By the way, I just bought BETWEEN LONESOME AND TEXAS, and I’m looking forward to reading it after the first of the year.

    Like

  6. Tori Scott says:

    Carol, my husband taught me to cook. But unlike Sandra (lucky girl), mine doesn’t do any cooking. Once I learned, it was my job. Some day I’m going to write a book with a hero who does all the cooking, but since I’ve never experienced it, it’s really hard for me to relate to. 🙂

    Thank you, Sandra! I hope you enjoy it.

    Like

Please Leave a Reply

