2014 – Planning Out the New Year by Pepper Phillips

Goals 2014

I admit I love lists…and spreadsheets.

In my computer I have a ‘House’ worksheet. It is huge!

Cleaning Schedule, Books I own, Books I read, To-Do list, Errand list (oh yeah, I have passed by the bank four times because I was thinking of something else while driving). Calendar for the year that runs down the page with Birthdays and Anniversaries keyed in and other important appointments. My Wal-Mart shopping list where the items are keyed in according to aisle…then they change things around and I can’t find anything.  Plus lots of other information I deem necessary to run my life.

Then there is my writing life.  I have several spreadsheets keeping track of my career.  Sales, Progress, Plan…some are new, designed by other wonderful women who love spreadsheets, and some are mine.

Yesterday I sat down and planned out the first six months of 2014. Which books I would finish or start and finish and the list is impressive. I hope I can stick to it this year. Last year was a dud in my book. I hit a brick wall on one book and it’s still not finished. However, it is down for February.

Right now I’m stalled on my NANO book, which isn’t nearly at 50k words, it wasn’t supposed to be that length as it’s a novella. Plans were that I would finish it by the end of the year. I have two days.

Can I do it? Yes, if I work like a demon for two days. But then there is other work, some of which I must finish today, so my morning is already planned out.

I’m comfortable with a list, it keeps me on track, they help me accomplish what I want to get done…like writing this blog for the day. It’s on the list.

I was telling a grandkid the other day that before my hubby and I married, we made a list of things we wanted to accomplish together. We hit every item on that list except for the last one. Instead of retiring to operate a hunting and fishing lodge, we expanded into something bigger but we still house and feed people.

I can’t imagine living without a goal to strive to…this year’s goal is to get my stories out there.

What are your goals for the new year?

 

Image credit: convisum / 123RF Stock Photo

About Pepper Phillips

Writer of Sassy Southern Romance Novels
This entry was posted in Pepper's Posts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to 2014 – Planning Out the New Year by Pepper Phillips

  1. monarisk says:

    I am like you Pepper. I have a monthly list, a weekly list, a daily list. I love nothing more than to draw line on finished items. Cooking: done, children: left, cleaning: today, gym: today, start new story: 3 paragraphs today,… Blog more, promo more….

    Like

  2. susanrhughes says:

    I have a daily list, but I end up transferring half the items to the next day. And so on.

    Like

  3. Life can mess up any good plan. But the way I see it, having a list is like using a road map, you can’t get where you want to be if you don’t have directions. LOL
    The worst thing is forgetting the list, especially the grocery list, at home.
    We have one of those magnetic shopping lists in the kitchen, and I’m still trying to train the hubster to write down something when we run out. I have trained him to take out a package of butter from the freezer when he opens the last stick in the fridge.
    Baby steps, baby steps….

    Like

  4. leighmorgan1 says:

    This year I am listing and mapping out what I want accomplished…gardens, writing (with dates certain for completion-edits-covers-etc.), promotion, food (creating new products & ensuring the one’s we have grow in distribution outlets), highland gear, Highland Games and Clan Donald growth…I’m sure more will come as I map. I’m unused to this, so we’ll see how it goes, but I can only think it will help.

    Wish I knew how to do spread sheets….sigh….guess I’ll have to put learning that on the list and the calendar 🙂

    Like

  5. Try YouTube Tutorials…here’s one for beginners. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8L1OVkw2ZQ8
    What I like is you can stop it and go back in case you missed something. I seem to do that a lot. There is still a lot I don’t know about spreadsheets, but I’m getting there.

    Like

  6. Reblogged this on Kelly Rae & Jocelyn Bell Books and commented:
    I agree with Pepper, although more often than not my “plans” turn out to be a list of things I only sort of finished! 🙂

    Like

  7. E. Ayers says:

    I make plans they are more flexible. LOL

    Like

Please Leave a Reply

