Write More, Write Better in 2014

blog pic

I’m a bit late with this post after a heavy night to ring in the new year.

After preparing all day (shopping, cooking, cleaning) for a small party for my teenagers, I slinked off to my bedroom and read Divergent until 11 pm, then fell asleep, then woke up in time to share a tepid toast of sparkling grape juice with everyone before staggering back to bed in  stupor of exhaustion. I’m the life of the party!

But despite my lackluster showing this year when it comes to hard partying, I still will give a stab at those new yearly resolutions. For my writing career, I want to write better and more. And maybe take a grammar class on the side.

To help me, I’ve thinned my stacks of writing books down to a few favs. Maybe they’ll boost your writing goals, too.

To jump start a new manuscript I find myself turning again and again to The Complete Writer’s Guide to Heroes and Heroines by Cowden, LaFever, and Viders.

H&HThis book helps me settle on my characters and get clues to how they interact. Think of this book as the wooden, articulated form for sculptors. It’s a basic form to pad and flesh out and make as individual as you like!

Once I have my hero and heroine (and sub-characters) nailed down, I need to figure out what’s important to them. I turn to my well-worn copy of Goal, Motivation & Conflict by Debra Dixon.

GMCI had the fortune to attend one of her classes and it was fantastic. The book is just as good. She helps the author save so much time plotting by forcing the gist of the characters’ goals, motivations and conflicts. What do they want, why do they want it, and what’s going to stop them? I could not recommend this book more.

emotion

The last book that I find very helpful is The Emotion Thesaurus: A Writer’s Guide to Character Expression by Ackerman and Puglisi. This books is so helpful in keeping me from having pet words and phrases when describing my characters. It a habit to be dreaded and avoided at all costs.

Of course there are other books out there that are tremendously helpful, but these are the copies that keep me coming back for more–which I hope parlays into better writing and more completed novels.

And I have lots of story ideas simmering on that back burner!

What are your goals for the new year?

 

About bellastreet

Living so close to Nashville has provoked Bella to take up fiddle lessons. Until her tunes no longer sound like amorous alley cats, she writes romance with a touch of weird. Visit her at www.bellastreetwrites.blogspot.com
This entry was posted in Bella's Posts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Write More, Write Better in 2014

  1. Pingback: Of when we write | Of Shadow and Feathers

  2. Jill James says:

    Write consistently all year. Write every day, even if it is just a few paragraphs or half a page. Every word adds up to more books.

    Like

  3. Bella, my goals are exactly the same – I imagine the entire Main Street crew feels this way :). I recently purchased Revisions and Self Editing For Publication upon the recommendation of a writing class.

    Like

  4. Reblogged this on Kelly Rae & Jocelyn Bell Books and commented:
    Great post by Bell Street, which happens to be right in line with my goals this year.

    Like

  5. leighmorgan1 says:

    Happy New Year, Bella!

    GOALS: Write daily…keep track of how much and how efficiently I’m writing, again daily record-keeping. I want to read more this year as well, so I’ve pleaded to read every day and not just for research :). I mapped out my year, given a stab at spread-sheets, for what I need to accomplish and what I’d like to accomplish as far as writing projects. I’ve also decided to take at least one class on something totally new…I don’t know where that’ll lead, hopefully somewhere wonderful.

    Great post. Wonderful reference books (I use them all). Here’s to writing better and producing more really great finished products!

    Like

  6. E. Ayers says:

    Happy New Year to everyone!

    I swear I’m the only person who drafts the whole story down and then goes back though it a few dozen times to add and tweak it. It’s long process. Why can’t I write it perfectly the first time?

    Like

    • leighmorgan1 says:

      No, E., you are not alone. I read before I start. Then I write whatever comes to me. Then I do a one page bullet point out-line. Then I write and I see what happens. Then I fix all the bad stuff.

      Like

  7. bellastreet says:

    Good stuff. I’m taking notes! 🙂

    Like

Please Leave a Reply

