Why I forget my age-and it’s not because I am old!

Go 35

Has someone ever asked you how old you are and you paused – you literally had to stop and think or maybe count? I do, all the time. I constantly want to say I am a year or two years younger than I am. And it’s not because I want to be younger, at least I don’t think. LOL! I am pretty comfy with where I am – I mean as long as I make New York Times Best Seller List by 40, I’ll be content with things.  😉

I can always recall with ease how old my son, Triton, is and often when I am cataloging things that have happened in life, it starts with the phrase “When Triton was – insert age here -“. Over the last eleven years my calendar has revolved around his moments, his milestones and big deals. I have forgotten to make a mental note of where I was in life when things happen. There are a few exceptions, I remembering turning 25 – because I had a four-month old kid and was also getting divorced – big deals in woman’s life I would say. I remember turning 30 – because I had a great party and I decided it was the real beginning of my life, my adult life. But the other days and birthdays and experiences are all sort of mixed up with the day-to-day of life, I guess.

I find it shows in my writing, because my heroines are all late twenties or early thirties and I identify with them and I see them all in this friend or that friend. So, basically I am keeping all of my friends ageless by writing about them. For the record not one of them has thanked me yet. 😉 I think passing into your thirties is a pretty interesting and transformative period. It’s a time for choosing life mates, having children and when life really hits the fan, for most of us. We are ADULTS and all that implies. Wait, why do I like writing about that time period again?

The good news is that I actually feel younger than I am – most days. It’s now January and in one month I will be 36, (thirty-six), 3-6 and I recently I had to stop and think about it to get my age correct. I thought for sure I was turning 35 and then the memory kicked in and alas, I am now officially closer to 40 than 30. 🙂 I am not saying that I am in a rush to be the big 4-0, but when it comes time I don’t expect to be too upset. Then again if things remain the same I won’t even realize it’s happening. LOL!

You see it’s not that I forget how old I am, it’s just that I can’t remember that I’m not  young!

This year I am striving for a break out year, one that makes me not only remember how old I am, but makes me never want to forget again!  So, whether it be falling in love again, hitting that big best seller list or maybe even getting that unbelievable book deal – this is the year that I will remember exactly how old I am. My first stop along the way, is another project with my friends here at The Authors of Main Street. (More details will come, as we move along and have dates). Now, the falling in love part might be a bit more challenging….

Falling in Love (1984 film)

Thanks for spending a bit of this first Friday of the new year with me and I hope this year you have a world of good reasons to remember. If you have a little more time, please check out my love stories and always if you love a book, review it – no matter who the author is, trust me reviews make our day!

What if…this Christmas $0.99 51iPXT0C+jL__BO2,204,203,200_PIsitb-sticker-arrow-click,TopRight,35,-76_AA278_PIkin4,BottomRight,-55,22_AA300_SH20_OU01_

What if… $3.99 51UI1w5VJHL__BO2,204,203,200_PIsitb-sticker-arrow-click,TopRight,35,-76_AA278_PIkin4,BottomRight,-54,22_AA300_SH20_OU01_

Christmas on Main Street 99cents until 1/15/14box set

 

This entry was posted in Kelly's Posts. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Why I forget my age-and it’s not because I am old!

  1. susanrhughes says:

    I certainly don’t feel as old as I am. I can’t think of myself as middle aged! I’m far too immature.

    Like

  2. leighmorgan1 says:

    Happy almost birthday, Kelly! I hope this is a year we all remember because collectively and individually we do hit “The List”. Great Post!

    Like

  3. Reblogged this on Kelly Rae & Jocelyn Bell Books and commented:
    It’s my day to reveal top secret info over at The Authors of Main Street….top secret might be an exaggeration, but check it out anyway! LOL

    Like

  4. monarisk says:

    Kelly, you look young and pretty and smart. And that’s your age.

    Like

  5. I’m keeping my mouth shut about age. My thoughts are young…that’s what counts.

    Like

Please Leave a Reply

