Addictions

I’d planned a blog post about new beginnings, complete with pictures. Then I learned all our broadband allowance for the month was gone, and we were relegated to below dial-up speeds once again. It’s hard to get pictures to load when your internet is at a crawl.

So what does that have to do with addictions?

When was the last time you had to go without internet for more than a few hours? How did you feel? Like your skin was crawling? Like you had to find a way, some way, to get back online to see if someone had said something about you, or posted something of dire importance, or if you’d missed an opportunity of some kind while you were away? Did you grab your laptop or tablet and head to the nearest Starbucks for a wifi fix?

Yeah, me too. I am addicted to the Internet. There was a time when I was addicted to books in the same way. I would read the day away, only jumping up to clean the house or start dinner when I thought the hubby would be home soon. I got lost in a world of lovers or cowboys or women in danger, or doctors falling in love over someone’s open-heart surgery.

These days, I find myself having to make time to read. My world is so full of Facebook, Twitter, Candy Crush, and—oh yeah, writing. Often my writing gets pushed to the bottom of the list, when it should be right there behind time with the husband. The house and cooking have to fit in there somewhere, usually the very minimum I can get by with. But I miss reading. I mean, really miss it.

I had a two book a day habit at one time. Now I’m lucky if I manage a book a month. And I blame it all on the Internet. I’m an addict, and this year I’m looking for a cure.

I made my New Year’s Resolution a simple one: To follow after peace. Already I’ve dropped one online group that was causing me stress–a group I’d been a part of for more than twelve years. There were people in that group who absolutely drove me up a wall, and the only way to find peace was to drop out completely. Cold Turkey. Then I started to think about the things in my life that used to bring me peace, but got dropped somewhere along the way.

One of those things was reading. I have a wonderful claw foot tub that just begs me to linger with a good book. I used to spend two hours in there, reading, thinking, dreaming. I’m going to go back to that. It de-stresses me in a way nothing else can. Reading takes me out of my own problems for a while, often gives me ideas of ways I can improve my own life, and it often makes me realize my own problems really aren’t that bad. Not bad for a $4 investment and a couple of hours of my time.

Sure beats the cost of a therapist. I think it might help get that other addiction under control, as well.

So I’m adding resolution #2 this year. Read. More. Books.

Happy Wednesday!

Tori

Check out Tori’s full list of novels and novellas, including the popular Lone Star Cowboys series, on her Amazon author page. Recent releases include Book 5 in the LSC series, Between Lonesome and Texas, as well as stories in two collections–Christmas on Main Street by the Authors of Main Street, and A Promise for Christmas in the Sweetwater Springs Christmas collection by Debra Holland.

You can find Tori’s books at http://amzn.com/e/B004FVIOG2 or at any major online retailer.

When you're stuck somewhere between Lonesome and Texas, which way do you turn? In one direction lies freedom. In the other, love. Or is there a way to have both?

When you’re stuck somewhere between Lonesome and Texas, which way do you turn? In one direction lies freedom. In the other, love. Or is there a way to have both?

About Tori Scott

Author, former Golden Heart finalist, published by Red Sage, in Woman's World, and selected news media. I live near Dallas Texas and write sexy romantic comedy, contemporary small-town romance, and romantic suspense.
This entry was posted in Tori's Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Addictions

  1. susanrhughes says:

    Good idea. I wish I had more time to devote to reading.

    Like

  2. leighmorgan1 says:

    I am resolved to read more this year too, Tori. Reading has always been an escape for me and some of that escape is on-line now.

    Like

  3. Jill James says:

    Reading is good. I read 1-2 books a week, maybe more if some of them are novellas or short stories. Since I’m reading lots of zombie apocalypse there are lots of shorter reads out there.

    Like

  4. monarisk says:

    Tori, your main resolution is similar to mine: avoid stress at any cost.

    Like

  5. E. Ayers says:

    I used to be a book a day reader and that was before Internet. For Christmas, my girls gave me a Kindle. I no longer have an excuse for not reading. I can get away from the computer and read. In fact, I jut bought a book today based on a review on a website. Yes, I want to read it!
    Now as to that tub bath? I haven’t had a bath in over 20 years. LOL (I promise I shower.) Guess I no longer have to lock myself into the bathroom in order to hide from the world.

    Like

  6. Tori Scott says:

    I very, very rarely take showers. Only if I’m in a huge hurry. I love that I can get rehydrated, destressed, and clean all at the same time. I put mineral salts in the bath water and it helps get rid of aches and pains, makes my skin and hair soft, and helps me absorb magnesium and other needed minerals. Add a good book and it’s not a bad way to spend an hour. Then again, a deep claw foot tub makes all the difference for comfort. I can get almost all of me under water.

    Tori

    Like

  7. I plan to read (and write) more in 2014 too and spend less time fiddling around on the Internet. Your description of soaking in a claw-foot tub is making me reconsider my reliance on showers. But then I’ve had some really good ideas when streams of hot water pound me on the head! My theory is that it heats up my brain cells.

    Like

  8. Joan Reeves says:

    Oh my. I was mostly without internet from mid-November to New Year’s. Not an easy experience and one I don’t wish to undergo again! Unfortunately, so much more was going on in my life that I didn’t get much reading done either. Happy New Year!

    Like

Please Leave a Reply

