Guilty Pleasures


This New Year’s Eve I didn’t make any resolutions. I haven’t kept a single resolution in my life, so why set myself up for failure?

0505virtue

I know there are many bad habits I should break and some good ones I should pick up. I should eat better, exercise more, watch less TV. Maybe in the spring I’ll try harder. Canadian winters are too hard to get through without indulging in my guilty pleasures.

With the Olympics coming up, there’s no hope of cutting down on TV watching. I intend to take in as much of the Games as I can until I’m dreaming about Biellmann spins and double daffy twister jumps. It only comes around every four years.

Murdoch_Mysteries

Of course I’ll have to fit that between episodes of my current addiction, Murdoch Mysteries (called The Artful Detective on Ovation). I missed the first five seasons so I have a lot of catching up to do!

All is not lost. I could walk on my treadmill while watching TV. That leaves my hands free for eating pie. Gotta have pie.

pie

Somehow I have to fit in writing as well. I’ve got several novels to finish this year. First there’s an exciting secret project with the Authors of Main Street, then a couple of sequels for my Music Box Series.

Treadmill-as-clothes-rackWish me luck.

About susanrhughes

Susan R. Hughes is a USA Today bestselling author of contemporary and historical romance. She lives in Ottawa, Ontario, with her husband and three children.
This entry was posted in Susan's Posts, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Guilty Pleasures

  1. leighmorgan1 says:

    Treadmills and pie…I’m all over that, Susan. I started watching the Irish Jack Taylor mysteries on NetFlix and loved it. There is something to be learned about story telling in everything we love to watch. All I can say, Susan, is: Good on You! Enjoy your winter. Your post made me smile.

    Like

  2. susanrhughes says:

    Never heard of that show, so I looked it up. Sounds interesting.

    Like

  3. Joan Reeves says:

    Susan, you have me laughing. That’s why I got rid of the last treadmill I owned. All I did was stack stuff on it. Brrr. Those Canadian winters. I’ve lived in the South too much to ever survive in one of your winters. I spent a year in South Dakota, and I saw enough snow and below zero temps to last me the rest of my life.

    Y’all must watch The Bletchley Circle on NetFlix. I reviewed it last week. Here’s the link because I really want you to watch this superb mini-series. http://slingwords.blogspot.com/2014/01/watch-bletchley-circle.html

    Like

    • susanrhughes says:

      It’s so cold this morning, after I was outside for only a few minutes my teeth were aching. My fingers went numb while I was driving my daughter to school (even wearing gloves). Under my breath, I swore like a sailor.

      Like

  4. E. Ayers says:

    You have MY treadmill! Mine doesn’t have anything on it – that also means I’m not on it! LOL I used to get on it everyday. I wonder what happened? Try turning it so it faces the TV. Then watch the Olympics and walk.

    We’re expecting snow today! 4 inches! WooHoo!! That’s rare around here.

    Like

  5. Jill James says:

    Susan, so sorry it is so cold there. I had a treadmill at one time too. I used it every day until space needs put it in the garage. After that, never again, until we sold it.

    Like

  6. Anonymous says:

    My treadmill doesn’t have laundry, but it does have a fine layer of dust!

    Like

Please Leave a Reply

