Poetry in Motion

0218-oly-blatchford-pairs

Virtue and Moir

Yesterday I was glued to my couch, anxiously awaiting the final skate of the Olympic ice dance competition. Who would capture the gold medal – the Canadians, Virtue and Moir, or the Americans, Davis and White? I’ve watched figure skating with a passion for years, but I used to find ice dancing boring, until the Canadian team of Bourne and Kraatz came along in the late 1990s and shook up the sport with innovative moves and exciting, daring routines. A good ice-dance program is fast and intricate yet looks effortless, and transports the audience into the story being told on the ice.

0218-oly-blatchford-pairs

Davis and White

Virtue and Moir have taken up the mantle with top-notch technical skills and artistry that resonates with emotion, earning them the gold medal at the 2010 Olympics. They’re just friends, but on the ice they look like they’re in love. Naturally I was disappointed that they had to settle for silver this time, but Davis and White are hard to beat. Both teams skated exquisite, flawless routines, making the event a joy to watch. Since both teams plan to retire after the Olympics, I look forward to seeing what the next generation of ice dancers has to offer.

About susanrhughes

Susan R. Hughes is a USA Today bestselling author of contemporary and historical romance. She lives in Ottawa, Ontario, with her husband and three children.
This entry was posted in Susan's Posts and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Poetry in Motion

  1. Jill James says:

    Susan, it was exciting, wasn’t it? I’m looking at that brother/sister team; Shibutani, I think, to be the future of the sport.

    Like

  2. monarisk says:

    I have been glued to my TV watching the dancers too. I think they are all incredibly good, setting their challenges higher and higher. My granddaughter is taking figure skating for three years now. Although she’s only a little girl, she’s shown a lot of talent, and works very hard, to be “like the Olympic dancers.”

    Like

  3. Joan Reeves says:

    I’ve always loved the ice dancing event, but I haven’t seen one minute of the Winter Olympics this time. Life has just been keeping me too busy so I appreciate your post, Susan, for a glimpse of the games.

    Like

  4. E. Ayers says:

    I’m dating myself here, but Torvill and Dean (1980’s) hooked me on ice dancing. Their performance to Bolero is unreal. They brought magic to the ice!

    Sochi has been a great Olympics venue. Watching the young man who’s home town is Sochi win the bobsled was terrific. I’m sure the noise was deafening throughout the town.

    I love watching winter Olympics!

    Like

  5. susanrhughes says:

    I should look up Torvill and Dean on Youtube. I saw their comeback in 1994 but not the famous Bolero routine.

    Like

  6. Carol says:

    Ice dancing is a favorite of mine, but haven’t caught one moment this year. Happy you’re able to enjoy!

    Like

  7. stephaniequeen says:

    I love all kinds of figure skating and ice dancing! What they do amazes me, especially since I tried figure skating once…. #failedattempt

    Like

Please Leave a Reply

