Working Through Change

I’m typing this post from the garage, where I’ve been banished for most of the day. The youngest has 3 Skype interviews this afternoon, and my office has been turned into a studio of sorts. I’m sitting here with my keyboard in my lap, shivering a bit while a cold north wind blows through. At noon, I have to disconnect from the internet so the youngest can have all the bandwidth for Skype.

Even so, I’m determined to get some writing done today. The dog and I will probably take a nap later, on the couch in the den with the TV going. Hubby is just trying to stay out of the way now that his job of getting the studio set up is over.

Some people hate change. I used to love it, but as I get older I get more set in my ways and less tolerant of interruptions and changes in my life. If it’s worked just fine for 20 years, why change it? But change is good for us. It shakes us up and makes us use our brains differently. Who knows what kind of ideas or scenes may come from just shaking up your routine a little, or going somewhere else to write, or trying a different restaurant? Sometimes solutions to problems will reveal themselves when you do something out of the ordinary. What if Isaac Newton hadn’t decided to get out of the laboratory or office and sit under an apple tree?

So if you find yourself stuck for an idea or lacking inspiration, get out of your usual spot and go do something different. Shake it up. Rearrange the furniture. Rearrange your life, if only for a little while.

I’m expecting good things to come from today.

I found out this weekend that Beneath a Texas Star has been nominated for a Rone Award by In D’Tale magazine. Voting has already begun for my category: Contemporary: Cops, Jocks, and Cowboys. I’d appreciate your vote! It takes a lot of them to advance to the next round. You can vote by signing up or signing in to the website at http://www.indtale.com. Or If you choose not to sign-up, you can still vote by sending your specific votes to:

anasmith@indtale.com

Emails will only be accepted during corresponding week of voting (March 10-16). Please include Genre, book and author in your email. For mine that would be:

Contemporary: Cops, Jocks & Cowboys

Beneath a Texas Star

Tori Scott

Thanks so much! I appreciate it.

2013_RONE_Nominee_640Amazon sizejpeg

About Tori Scott

Author, former Golden Heart finalist, published by Red Sage, in Woman's World, and selected news media. I live near Dallas Texas and write sexy romantic comedy, contemporary small-town romance, and romantic suspense.
This entry was posted in Tori's Posts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Working Through Change

  1. monarisk says:

    Congratulations on the nomination, Tori. I have a lot of difficulty to work anywhere else than at my desk. I should be inspired by your example.

    Like

  2. leighmorgan1 says:

    Congratulations, Tori!

    Like

  3. E. Ayers says:

    Your writing is excellent. Every one of your books should be a number one best seller because they are that good. Do I sound prejudice because you’re an AoMS? I promise, that has nothing to do with it. Your ability to craft a story and immerse your reader is top notch. I’m constantly reading other books, especially the top sellers, and most need to take a few lessons on writing from you.

    Best of luck. You deserve to win!

    Like

  4. Joan Reeves says:

    Ah, change–the blessings and the curse of it. One thing is true. Change will happen whether you want it or not.

    Like

Please Leave a Reply

