A Holiday is What You Make of It — Jill James

moomsbuy and freedigitalphotos.netSt. Patrick’s Day was a big deal in my family when I was growing up. My mother’s maiden name was Redmond. I have McNeely and Mahoney in my family tree. I loved knowing it was Corned Beef and Cabbage time. I carried those traditions to my own family once I had one. Corned Beef, Cabbage, Potatoes, Carrots, Vanilla Ice Cream with Crème de Mint splashed on top, Shortbread Cookies, and Irish Soda Bread.

But, around 2001 we sold our house we had lived in for thirteen years and moved out to our current house. Move-in day? March 17th! So, no time for the traditional meal that day. We were busy moving 1 moving truck and 7 pickup trucks and trailers worth of belongings. By the time evening hit, we were glad just to hit our beds. Whew!!

So, the next year I was all ready to do the corned beef meal and my husband said, “No, I want a big juicy steak, barbequed out on our deck, a big fancy salad, some potatoes, and a nice glass of wine to celebrate the anniversary of our house.”

A new tradition was born. Every St. Patrick’s Day we do the steak and potatoes thing to celebrate our lovely house we live in (which is two times the size of the old one). A holiday is whatever you make of it. You can be traditional or eclectic or way out of the box. It is your holiday, enjoy it!!

Jill James, writer of contemporary and paranormal romance

**********************

*Image courtesy of moomsabuy / FreeDigitalPhotos.net

About Jill James

Jill is a published author with The Wild Rose Press and self-published with The Lake Willowbee Series. She enjoys reading just as much as writing. You can follow her on Facebook http://www.facebook.com/Jill.James.author and Twitter @jill_james
This entry was posted in Jill's Posts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A Holiday is What You Make of It — Jill James

  1. E. Ayers says:

    Traditions are exactly what we make it. I love your new tradition, and as for the old one? Such a delicious meal can be enjoyed at any time. I think you should move it to May 13, when it’s National Leprechaun Day. Besides I think you’d have a better chance of catching a wee little fellow when it’s no so cold.

    Like

  2. leighmorgan1 says:

    Fantastic idea! Celebrating any important day with love is wonderful no matter how you do it. Your entire post made me smile, Jill! I’ll be thinking of you Monday 🙂

    Like

    • Jill James says:

      Thanks, Leigh. I was thinking of it when I read a bunch online of people celebrating Christmas not on Christmas because of jobs, responsibilities, and family issues. You can have a special day and not have it be the one everyone else is celebrating.

      Like

  3. Joan Reeves says:

    Both meals sound delicious, but I love the idea of National Leprechauns day. Think I’ll celebrate that this year. Thanks, E, for the suggestion.

    Like

Please Leave a Reply

