It’s Crawfish Season by Pepper Phillips

crawfish

Crawfish sseason is upon us. This means that I’ll be eating crawfish at least once a week until June. I think the all time best was six times in one week. LOL

We grow our own in several ponds located in ‘the woods’…which has some woods but also large patches of vegetation that deer love.

There were some people harvesting crawfish in February, but with the cold weather we’ve been having, the catch was small, as were the crawfish. Those people who live in the most Southern parts of Louisiana are the ones who begin to catch them first.

Right now they are still expensive.  The buyers are paying over three dollars a pound for freshly caught crawfish.  Those prices will drop quickly as the weather warms up.

If you’ve never tasted crawfish, it’s a treat. Somewhat like lobster, except way smaller. Cooked with crab boil, they don’t have the ‘delicate’ taste of steamed lobster, they taste better.

Served with boiled potatoes, corn on the cob, boiled eggs and sometimes whole mushrooms that are boiled in the spicy water, you have a full dinner when served.

One of the kids threw raw chicken legs into the boiling water last week after the crawfish were done and after twenty minutes took them out. That was something new and I have to say, delicious.

Because of the work involved, cleaning the crawfish, hauling out the big pots, lighting the burners, getting the propane tanks, purchasing the seasoning and then the actual boiling part (everyone has their own method) we boil them, then remove them from that pot and put them in another to steep in the crab boil for thirty minutes, it’s not a ‘quick’ dinner.

But it is a ‘family and friends’ dinner.  Being invited to a crawfish boil is better than a dinner party.  You don’t have to dress up, there is plenty of food, and the conversation among the people there can get pretty interesting.

Because my hubby is a wildlife biologist, all the kids and grandkids can ‘sex’ a crawfish, meaning they can tell the boys from the girls.  Biology in action.  He does tend to get technical, giving the parts their respective scientific names, which I certainly can’t pronounce or spell, but I’ve learned how to tell them apart.

I have a cookbook called ‘The Louisiana Crawfish Cookbook” by Sunny Jumonville and Joy Mounger, which to me is the absolute best.  There is some Southern humor in the book as well, which really makes the book special.

Besides eating freshly boiled crawfish, I love them in an etouffe, have eaten them in a crawfish burger, and haven’t nearly tried them enough in different recipes.

We’ll be eating crawfish until the middle of June, which is when the season tapers off into nothing.  But you can buy them frozen, so it really is something that you can eat year round.

If you’ve never tried them, enjoy!

f

About Pepper Phillips

Writer of Sassy Southern Romance Novels
This entry was posted in Pepper's Posts, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to It’s Crawfish Season by Pepper Phillips

  1. Pingback: It’s Crawfish Season by Pepper Phillips | Pepper Phillips

  2. leighmorgan1 says:

    I love crawfish. I’ve only had them a handful of times since they aren’t very prevalent here, but each time they were fun to rip apart and they tasted fantastic! My husband loves them too, although spicier than I can eat them. 🙂

    Like

  3. Mona Risk says:

    Pepper, can I come for dinner, please? I studied biology in my pharmacy school, so I don’t have a problem with listening to technical talk. LOL

    Like

  4. When my husband and I lived in Beaumont, Texas (just to the east of the Texas-Louisiana border), we went to several crawfish boils. What a treat! Our hosts would cover a picnic table with newspaper and dump the boiled crawfish, corn on the cob, and potatoes on the newspaper and tell everybody to dig in. I’ll admit that the first time I tried to eat a crawfish, I was a little uncertain. But a friend gave me some good advice: first, drink a lot of beer. That worked perfectly! And once I’d actually tasted a freshly boiled crawdad, I never hesitated again. Enjoy crawfish season!

    Like

  5. The first time I had crawfish was in New Orleans. A little hole in the wall off the beaten path somewhere in the French Quarter. Fabulous. This post made me hungry.

    Like

  6. Joan Reeves says:

    Ah, crawfish season. I can remember when I was a kid and we’d go “fishing” for crawdads as we called them. Then on Saturdays, my dad would go out in the Gulf with his shrimp nets and bring home tubs full of the best shrimp in the world. Momma would fry them and oysters for dinner. Gee, that was another life–another world.

    Like

Please Leave a Reply

