One Mind

It never ceases to amaze me how creative types seem to operate from a hive mind sometimes. When one is zipping right along on their books, so is everyone else. When one is struggling for every word that hits the page, so are many others.

And when one writes the end, dozens of others follow with, “Me, too!”

Okay, maybe we just draw people to us who are in the same boat, but it seems like this latest book was one of the most difficult for me to write, and it took a lot longer than it should have. I’m hearing the same from many, many authors. Was it the long, dark, gloomy winter? Did the sudden burst of sunlight spur us on to the finish line?

Or do we really operate as a kind of collective?

I’m seeing authors all around me moaning about the lack of ideas suddenly. I’m right there with them. While my mind is usually teeming with them, right now it’s being stubbornly silent. But I know when I sit down to type, the words will be there, waiting for me.

Just as soon as I finish my taxes, that is. Hmmm, maybe that’s what sent our muses into hiding. The knowledge that as soon as the book was finished, it was tax prep time. I understand. I’d hide too, if I could. But the sun will be out again tomorrow, I’ll get back to spreadsheets and receipts and my favorite online tax prep program. And then I’ll put it all behind me and get back to work–this time on something special for the Authors of Main Street if I can pull off a miracle and get it done in time.

In the meantime, I have a brand spanking new release, only a couple of hours old. Book 6 in the Lone Star Cowboys series, Behind a Texas Badge. It deals with some serious stuff, but as always, it ends with hope. Check it out on Amazon.

behindatexasbadge

Shelby Campbell has a secret she’s kept from her friends and her newly found family. She’s a victim of domestic abuse, hiding from her psychopathic ex-husband. She hopes to leave her past–and her ex–behind when she moves to Morris Springs and changes her name. She thinks she’s left no trail for him to follow, but she quickly discovers her ex is more resourceful than she gave him credit for. 

Tommy Bell is the sheriff of Morris Springs and it’s his job to keep Shelby safe. He has no idea how determined her ex-husband is to make sure that if he can’t have Shelby, no one can. When Shelby leaves the protection of the Triple S to save her son, Tommy has to find her, before it’s too late. 

Happy Reading!

Tori

About Tori Scott

Author, former Golden Heart finalist, published by Red Sage, in Woman's World, and selected news media. I live near Dallas Texas and write sexy romantic comedy, contemporary small-town romance, and romantic suspense.
This entry was posted in Tori's Posts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to One Mind

  1. E. Ayers says:

    Oh, I’m so excited. That’s an awesome cover and all your stories are great! I’m going to hop over to Amazon and go get it! I know I’m in for some great late night reading!

    Like

  2. leighmorgan1 says:

    Love the cover and the blurb, Tori. Congrats on your newest release!

    Like

  3. stephaniequeen says:

    I love the cover of your new book – and it fits in well with the rest of the Texas series – of course! Good luck with your launch! (and I’m right with you struggling to write the AoMS novella after having just finished my taxes!)
    Stephanie Queen

    Like

  4. Joan Reeves says:

    Now that’s a great cover! My friend AnneMarie Novark has hunky Texans on her covers, and her books fly off the shelves. Hope this one does the same for you! Btw, mailed my tax return Saturday. Yee haw!

    Like

  5. bellastreet says:

    SO true! My last few books have been ground out by force of will. I really am hoping it was the crummy winter weather! Congrats on the new release!

    Like

Please Leave a Reply

