Pulled From the Ether by Jill James

The number one question for authors are “where do you get your ideas?” Most authors have no problem finding ideas. Our problem is deciding which one to write first. LOL

My first complete manuscript was Books and Dreams. That one was a dream I had. A full Technicolor, every line of dialogue, every scene, dreamed one night and I woke up and wrote it over the next three months.

DangerousShift 200x300My favorite story, the book of my heart, Dangerous Shift was from watching Jurassic Park for the umpteenth time with my kids. I love that movie. I’m sitting there and I’m watching when Dr. Grant is telling the kids about the dinosaurs changing sexes because they were all engineered to be female, but they are breeding in the park. I said to my kids, “wouldn’t it be cool if people could do that?” Bing! A light bulb went off in my head. They could do that, if I wrote the book that way!!! Dangerous Shift and its gender shifters were born.

Ideas for stories come from everywhere and nowhere. It can be a book, a movie, an eavesdropped…ahem, an accidentally overheard conversation at the coffee shop. Just that little spark that flares in the brain and then ignites on the page. Just like that a story comes into being.

For every author. For every book or movie or tv show. Somewhere a writer reached up and snatched an idea out of the ether and made it go from wisps of nothingness into reality. If that isn’t magic, I don’t know what is.

Jill James, writer of contemporary and paranormal romance

 

About Jill James

Jill is a published author with The Wild Rose Press and self-published with The Lake Willowbee Series. She enjoys reading just as much as writing. You can follow her on Facebook http://www.facebook.com/Jill.James.author and Twitter @jill_james
This entry was posted in Jill's Posts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Pulled From the Ether by Jill James

  1. E. Ayers says:

    So many of my books are multiple snippets of things that come together like paper thin layers of potato flakes. Then something happens to stir them up. Suddenly I have a story and characters who want my keyboard time. I couldn’t explain how they really got there or what stirred that story into being. I just have to start writing.

    Snails and slugs switch gender all the time! Personally, I can’t imagine switching gender. Leaving Freud out of it, men do that that handy-dandy thing to take on a picnic. And there’s been a few times I wish a female was as lucky. Try a long road trip with children while potty training. Here, son, use the jar, versus, honey, pull over so I can get the potty chair out for our daughter. Boys are easier!

    Like

  2. leighmorgan1 says:

    Second Chances was inspired by a song on the radio…the voice and the song. Different parts of my life and the lives of those around congealed into a story I still love ~ although perhaps I’d write it a little differently today (which is exactly why I won’t 🙂 ). It really isn’t hard to see where ideas for anything come from; I can still see that ubiquitous image of Newton getting hit on the head by an apple falling as he was daydreaming about something else. Sometimes all we have to do is be receptive to what going on around us.

    Wonderful post, Jill. Thanks!

    Like

  3. susanrhughes says:

    Dangerous Shift sounds interesting. It’s on my TBR list.

    Like

  4. monarisk says:

    ideas for my books came from events that happened in my life or my relatives’ lives. Why look far? It’s all around us.

    Like

  5. Joan Reeves says:

    Wow, now that sounds like a high-concept premise. Hey, Hollywood! Are you listening?

    Like

Please Leave a Reply

