Popular Blog Posts, exposing the underbelly of my blog

I write as an author of Main Street, but I also have my own street. Most writers, and even some non-writer types, have their own blogs. It’s curious why some posts are more interesting to the world than others. Some posts I think are quite good are basically ignored while others that are neither insightful or witty for some inexplicable reason pick up traction. Here are the top five most viewed posts on my blog, http://kristystories.blogspot.com/

10 Steps to a Successful Book Launch

Sep 16, 2011, 19 comments

2380
               

Page One, Once Again

Aug 8, 2013, 3 comments

2119
               
1929
               

The Carriage House Notebook

Sep 24, 2012, 5 comments

1258
               
998

And the audience! For awhile I had a host of Russians reading my blog. Vlads and Omars were leaving comments.I personally don’t know anyone currently living in Russia, nor do I know any Vlads or Omars, and I don’t know why the Russians would be more interested in my blog than the Belgians. Here are the overall stats of my blog.

United States

 

44061

Russia

 

10521

France

 

3648

Germany

 

2475

United Kingdom

 

1853

It’s not surprising that the posts that are the most helpful are also the most popular….That might be a good life lesson, as well.

In an effort to be increasingly helpful, for the next three months, I’m donating all of the proceeds from my Rose Arbor books to the Oso Relief fund. Oso is a tiny community on the outskirts of my home town, Arlington, Washington, the fictionalized setting of my Rose Arbor books. (Read my blog post on my decision.http://bit.ly/1hDqCls) And to make donating easy, for a limited time A Ghost of a Second Chance, the first in the series is now only .99 cents.

Because, as my mom used to say, when you’re helping you’re happy.

Image

About Kristy Tate

This is a fun place.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Popular Blog Posts, exposing the underbelly of my blog

  1. susanrhughes says:

    I’m going to pick up a copy.

    Like

  2. Joan Reeves says:

    Those are great stats, Kristy. I adore your wedding book cover. My daughter wore red shoes with her wedding dress. One of her friends wore purple shoes, and another wore blue. I like that colored shoe trend with wedding gowns.

    Like

  3. leighmorgan1 says:

    What phenomenal traction your blog’s getting. It’s got to feel wonderful to reach so many lives. Your cover is beautiful…so is the fact that you’re giving :). Can’t wait to read your Rose Arbor books.

    Like

  4. Kristy Tate says:

    Thanks. The feet on the cover for A Ghost of a Second Chance belong to my son Nathan and his wife Shirley. I’ve decided that this is my new favorite thing to do–put my loved ones on my book covers.

    Like

  5. Jill James says:

    Great stats. It is a mystery why some blog posts see great traffic and others don’t. Beautiful cover.

    Like

  6. E. Ayers says:

    I love that your covers contain something special and personal. It’s a great cover!

    I’ve yet to understand blog traffic.

    Like

  7. Reblogged this on Kelly Rae & Jocelyn Bell Books and commented:
    Really found the information here helpful, so along with blogging more often – which I swear I am going to do…eventually – I have tips on how to increase readership. Thanks Kristy!

    Like

  8. monarisk says:

    Great statistics. It’s always fun to see foreign people reading your blog.

    Like

Please Leave a Reply

