Best Laid Plans — Jill James

Allen Saunders: Life is what happens to us while we are making other plans.
—Publishers Syndicate

Everyone knows that saying. You make all the best of plans, and then life slaps you upside the head. LOL

When the Main Street Authors decided to do a wedding boxed set this June I thought I would have no problem coming up with a story. Ha! Joke’s on me. I had not a single, solitary idea in my head. (not the first time that’s happened either) So, I decided to take an old story idea (DA protecting a witness), a character from Divorce, Interrupted (daughter, Michelle) and I would write a story. Um, no! It wasn’t happening and the deadline was approaching. Will write that story later.

Idea #2 – take an old story out of the mothballs and resurrect it for the boxed set. Great! Now we’re talking! Um, no! Accidentally in Love is a great story, but destined to be way bigger than the 15-25K we decided on for this set. Probably close to 40K when I get back to it.

Idea #3 – So, all out of ideas at the moment I turned to my best friend and asked if I could borrow her life for a story. I was very timid to ask, after all, this is her life we are talking about. She said YES!! This worked out great, because just the idea of using part of her life was enough to get the creative juices flowing. So…

TheReluctantBride 200x300The Reluctant Bride is my contribution to the Weddings on Main Street boxed set by the Authors of Main Street.

Claire Woods and Jimmy Tyler were high-school sweethearts with a marriage proposal on prom night. Ten years later and they are no closer to the altar than that far away romantic night, thanks to Claire’s family. Traits run in families, divorce runs in Claire’s. Her parents have eight marriages and numerous divorces between them. And her siblings aren’t much better, with her twin, Corrine ready to walk down the aisle for marriage #5. But is she?

Jimmy Tyler has a plan and with the help of Claire’s siblings and family he may just get his reluctant bride surprised, ambushed, and to the church in time.

Weddings on Main Street by the Authors of Main Street is set to release
June 9th, 2014. Save the Date and hope to see you there.


I had a reluctant Groom. He didn’t want to get married before his 25th birthday. Our wedding was 2 days after his birthday. This June will be 26 years.

amanda wedding

About Jill James

Jill is a published author with The Wild Rose Press and self-published with The Lake Willowbee Series. She enjoys reading just as much as writing. You can follow her on Facebook http://www.facebook.com/Jill.James.author and Twitter @jill_james
This entry was posted in Jill's Posts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Best Laid Plans — Jill James

  1. E. Ayers says:

    Congratulations on almost 26 years. No wonder you fell for him – he’s quite handsome! And I’m drooling over that dress.

    Can’t wait to read your story. Of course i know tidbits, so this is going to be quite exciting.

    Like

  2. Kathy Heare Watts says:

    Looking forward to reading the brides/wedding books! Congratulations on 26 years. Love the pictures.
    We will celebrate 38 years in October. I married 6 days after turning 18 because my father said he would never sign for any of his girls to marry any sooner. He signed for the next one. 😦 My parents will celebrater 58 years in Sept.

    Like

  3. bellastreet says:

    Congrats on 26 years. Love the book cover!

    Like

  4. leighmorgan1 says:

    Jill, your cover is one of my favorites. Can’t wait to read all the stories in this set, I think this is really going to be a wonderful collection. Congratulations on celebrating 26 years together! I agree with E., your husband is very handsome, but he’s got a lovely bride too!

    Like

  5. susanrhughes says:

    Gotta love that 1980s hair!
    I know that quote from a John Lennon song. I didn’t realize he “borrowed” it from someone else!

    Like

    • Jill James says:

      Susan, yes I did the whole Farrah Fawcett hair thing in the ’80s. I had wanted a French braid that day, but my mom overruled me and said I needed to be fluffy. LOL

      Like

  6. Joan Reeves says:

    Love the cover, Jill. Congrats on your anniversary next month–just in time for the release of Weddings on Main Street.

    Like

  7. Congratulations on 26 years, Jill. As many here have said, the book cover is fabulous. Best friends always come through!

    Like

  8. monarisk says:

    Congratulations on 26 years Jill. You were such a lovely bride. I can’t wait to read your Reluctant Bride. Love the cover.

    Like

  9. Pingback: Best Laid Plans — Jill James | Pepper Phillips

Please Leave a Reply

