Summertime Madness

IMG_5023

San Diego, CA

Summer is here and I couldn’t be happier, days of sun and swimming lay ahead, for the kid and me.  Like most, we have plans to travel a bit. Our first trip will be in full swing, when this post goes live, on Independence Day! We will be in gorgeous Southern California, with family watching fireworks near the beach. Hooray!

As we travel, by car, from Oregon down into California, we will be making stops from the top to the bottom of the state. Along the way we get to attend a 1-year-old birthday party, see for the first time a new baby to our family, visit every grandparent my son has (there are a lot of them), go swimming in pools and oceans, eat good food and catch-up with our loved ones. I wonder if it will all be exhausting as it sounds? Ha!

Golden Gate

Golden Gate

Unfortunately for me, this will be somewhat a working vacation. Oh the dangers of being your own boss – you forget to schedule REAL vacation time! 🙂 The good news is that I have so much going on, in my writing life, that I will need to work a little each day in order to stay on track. I have promoting and fine tuning to do on my novella series, One Day at a Wedding. The first of which was released with the wonderful ladies here on Main Street in our newest boxed set Weddings on Main Street.

I would love to hear about your vacation plans for the summer or just in general what kind of vacation style do you enjoy? Our first trip is all about visiting family and friends. Check out our poll and share your faves with us, feel free to comment as well and start a discussion about your best vacation ever!

I would also like to take a moment, this being Independence Day, to wish everyone a happy holiday, may you spend it with those you love and cherish most. USA! USA! USA!

Wishing you only the best in fiction and in life.

Kelly Rae

 

 

All of the lovely stories below are available in the newest Authors on Main Street Boxed set! We are all so proud of the entire set and hope that those of you who have read it would consider writing a review and letting others know what you thought of our collection of weddings!

Wedding on MS2b

2D Boxed set

This entry was posted in Kelly's Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Summertime Madness

  1. Pingback: Summertime Madness | Kelly Rae & Jocelyn Bell Books

  2. Jill James says:

    We used to take a big family vacation every two years. We wanted to pay cash, so we saved until we had enough. My favorite was to the Grand Canyon. I had never been and the kids loved it. We rode an old-fashioned steam engine train to the canyon and then took a bus tour to see the various vista points. Even pictures do not do it justice. You have to see it in person to really appreciate its grandeur.

    Like

    • There is a scene in the movie Guilt Trip, with Barbara Streisand that my son and I watched and loved; Barbara (the mother) and her son (Seth Rogen) are standing at a lookout over the Grand Canyon and after a few minutes, the mother says something like, “How long do you suppose we need to stand here?”. Triton and I have a feeling we would be the same way – not really sure what to do when we got there.

      Like

  3. susanrhughes says:

    We’re going to Niagara Falls again, staying longer this time.

    Like

  4. Carol says:

    Have fun on your working/vacation! We worked in the yard, then enjoyed being with family. Great afternoon and evening.

    Like

  5. E. Ayers says:

    I haven’t had a vacation in years. But I do intend to sneak away from my computer and do some housework! Really! It’s gone from something i should do to I must do!

    I’ve been trying to save for a little RV. I want to go to Wyoming and visit friends along the way and out of the way. 🙂 Have toothbrush, camera, laptop, and RV! Maybe next spring. Just take a month and go. It’s been so long since I’ve been in Wyoming, and I can’t wait to return to that beautiful state!

    Like

    • My Dad has started threatening that he will be moving to Wyoming for their tax benefits and his ability to buy land and hide a midst the forests. You’ll have to tell me where in Wyoming is the most beautiful, so at least I can settle him some place that I would actually want to vacation too! 🙂

      Like

  6. leighmorgan1 says:

    Have a wonderful vacation, Kelly! It sounds heavenly. 🙂

    Like

  7. Joan Reeves says:

    Happy Vacation, Kelly! I’d like to spend a summer the way I did when I was a kid–no responsibility, play all day, catch lightning bugs (that’s what we called fireflies) at night, eat fresh vegetables from the garden every day, and have homemade ice cream on Sunday. Wow! Just didn’t appreciate all of that when I was a kid.

    Like

Please Leave a Reply

