Deadly Deadlines

Business Woman w. Laptop

Image via clip art

This summer, the ladies here at the Authors of Main Street put out a new collection of novellas, focused on weddings. The Weddings on Main Street collection was well received, with more than twenty 4/5 Star Reviews, in just over a months time. I am just thrilled to be a part of such a wonderful group of writers, and more importantly, people. Working with them this summer on this, and future projects, has been a highlight.  It also led to new opportunities for me.

Thanks to the wedding boxed set, I created a wedding series that I planned to do on my own, outside of the set.  A publisher took interest, and offered me a contract. A publisher with whom I am very excited to be a part of their contemporary romance line. This means I am officially a hybrid, which I admit sounds a lot less cool than being an Indie. But it means an opportunity for me to possibly reach new readers, with the assistance of a larger budget and more resources, in terms of marketing. I was ecstatic with this change in circumstance, despite it making me sound like a really slow, hipster vehicle. 😛

The week I signed the contract I already had the first two books, in the series, written and was working on number three. It seemed like a piece of cake, a good old walk in the park, until I sat down at my laptop. Suddenly, I was working on someone else’s deadline, making use of someone else’s resources, and someone else would be counting on me to help make a name of their brand. YIKES!!

via clip art on microsoft

Image via clip art

It took me almost a week to write more than a sentence or two. It was driving me crazy. I certainly spent some time worried that I was going to ruin this opportunity. It was a case of the deadly deadlines. I am used to working on my schedule and suddenly, I couldn’t write at just any pace and I was accountable to someone other than myself. I had signed a contract for heaven’s sake.

At some point, I just had to get over it and work. Writing is what I do, what I love, and I would do it whether I was publishing or not. So, big girl panties on, I sat down and just did it!  It had to be done and the story was all in my head, I just needed to get over the jitters.

Some days words flow like crazy and I wish I didn’t have to stop for real life things, such as cooking dinner or picking my son up from school. Other days, I keep an eye on the clock, willing it to be the end of my scheduled work day. It’s a process and I am so excited to finish this series, work with this new publishing house, and reach out to a larger fan base with my book babies. It’s been a great summer professionally. In between my deadly deadline issues, the exciting release of Weddings on Main Street, and getting some work done on other projects, I did find time to enjoy summer vacation with the kid.

 

IMG_6755IMG_6433IMG_6779

On this blog we love authors and supporting them in this industry. So, I shared my deadline story now we want to hear about your next deadline or most recent one. We want to hear about your new release, if you have one. I don’t like the term “pimp your book”, so let’s call this a “Book Shout Out”. Let our readers know what you are up to and where to find you on social media, so they can track you down. Ready, set, gooooooooo!

*fyi: the readers here are mainly sweet to mild heat, so we ask you keep that in mind w/ any excerpts, descriptions or images you post about your stories. Thank you in advance!

Image via Flickr Creative Commons

Image via Flickr Creative Commons

Thanks for stopping by today, wish me luck readers and writers on this new hybrid adventure. I feel blessed to be able to do both and I cannot wait for the next installment of The Authors of Main Street, which you can expect out in early 2015! We are plotting and planning and scheming away. 🙂

Wishing you well in fiction and real life,

Kelly Rae

This entry was posted in Kelly's Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Deadly Deadlines

  1. You can do it! I have no doubt about your capabilities. Here’s hoping that this venture will bring you many new readers.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Jill James says:

    I’m STILL working on Love in the Time of Zombies. It is sooo close I am getting frustrated that it isn’t done. You can follow my writing adventures at http://www.facebook.com/Jill.James.author

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Carol says:

    I agree with Pepper. You can do this, Kelly. Good luck!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Reblogged this on Kelly Rae & Jocelyn Bell Books and commented:
    Check out my post this month, over at the Authors of Main Street. I am talking about stage fright in the face of deadlines. Thanks to a new publishing deal, with Forever Red Publishing, for my wedding series that will be out at the end of this year.

    It was an exciting summer and I sure hope the same was true for my readers!

    Wishing you well, in fiction and real life,
    Kelly Rae

    Like

  5. lynncahoon says:

    I realized writing on deadline is a whole different animal than just writing a book. 🙂 I’ve completed one and am a month away from completing another, but it feels different. Taking an idea you have and turning it into a book in three/four months feels daunting. I tried not to think too much about the deadlines, just the books. Good Luck Kelly Rae!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Lynn, I always made deadlines for myself as an Indie, of course, it just seemed a little scary when it was in writing and I signed some fancy paper! LOL

      Good luck with your writing, as well!

      Like

  6. E. Ayers says:

    Indies do have deadlines, otherwise the book wouldn’t get out there. Plus I usually tell my editor that I will be send x words on the fifteen of Oct so she can schedule me. Without fail, I’m freaking on the 14th!

    I’m hoping to box up With This Ring and I Thee Wed along with another around Xmas. And I need to release I Thee Wed all by itself since it was in the boxed set. Just need to make the time to do that. Plus I have another Mariner’s Cove that I’m working on that I’d like to have out in Nov. (Why do I do this to myself? LOL) So without enough hours in a day… I’m back under the gun.

    Loved the vacation pics. He’s getting awfully big! You’re losing your “little” boy.

    Liked by 1 person

    • The boy will be 12, in 2 weeks. I am heartbroken that this will be my last year, before the teen years. He amazes me all the time, I am hopeful that will continue to be so, in mostly good ways.

      I did the same thing, when my deadlines were only mine. Somehow, singing my name on the dotted line made it feel a little more DEADline-ish! LOL

      Like

  7. leighmorgan1 says:

    Congratulations, Kelly! You Go, Girl! Your post on deadlines in particularly apropos for me this week. Yikes…. So happy for you.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Joan Reeves says:

    Deadlines are a necessary evil or we’d probably never finish anything. It’s just too easy to keep “refining.” *g* I know you’ll make it.

    Like

Please Leave a Reply

