Hello, Fall

It’s not quite fall yet, but tomorrow night we’ll be getting fall weather in my part of Texas. It will be a welcome relief from the heat we’ve had the last few weeks.

I love fall, almost as much as I love spring. I love the crisp, cool mornings and evenings when I can turn off the air conditioner and open the windows and doors. I love the festivals and fairs, especially the State Fair of Texas. DSC_5694

I love the foods I can add to our menu, like chili, stew, and chicken soup.

chicken soup johhnycashchiliI love the new season of my favorite shows, the longer nights and shorter days, and being able to play outside with my dog without melting from the heat. I love wearing sweatshirts and sweaters, fuzzy socks, and extra blankets on the bed.

I write more during the fall and winter seasons, too. The shorter days gets me in the mood to write earlier in the evening, so I get more accomplished. In the summer I’m distracted by so many things that I get little writing done. And for some reason, my brain seems to work better in the cooler weather. Not a scientific observation, just a personal one.

When I write, the current season seems to be the one that works its way into my books. I’m working on one now, though, that’s set in the spring. I’m anxious to finish it so I can get to work on the next one, set in the Blue Ridge mountains in fall. I can almost see the glorious colors on the trees (we don’t get much of that in Texas), and I wish I could be there to enjoy them in person.

What is your favorite season, and why? Curious minds want to know.

 

About Tori Scott

Author, former Golden Heart finalist, published by Red Sage, in Woman's World, and selected news media. I live near Dallas Texas and write sexy romantic comedy, contemporary small-town romance, and romantic suspense.
This entry was posted in Tori's Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Hello, Fall

  1. I like spring. The narcissus bloom around Christmas, but the daffodils are the first ones in the spring around here. Their bright yellow heads poking out of the ground make me happy.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. sandybar57 says:

    I love the fall also. Here in Georgia we get all four seasons. In the fall I get to see all the leaves change colors and fall from the trees. It is a little cooler at night and I can handle being outside a little better.

    However, winter is my favorite season. We hardly ever get any snow in Columbus, but when it does snow, just a little sprinkling closes the town down. I lived in Alaska for 14 years, so I still find this a little funny! I enjoy the cold weather as I am very hot-natured!

    Liked by 2 people

  3. susanrhughes says:

    Summer! I like being warm. I like walking out the door in the morning in shorts and sandals. I like not having to find socks and sweaters for the kids! Not to mention snowsuits, hats, mittens, scarves …

    Liked by 2 people

  4. leighmorgan1 says:

    Warm falls are fantastic. The colors here, in S.E. Wisconsin are lovely. Football has begun, which for all Packer fans is a wonderfully stressful state of events. Warm to Crisp days and nights filled with veg-chili, a variety of harvest soups, hot baked potatoes and evenings by the fire….it’s all good. Love the scent of autumn too.

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Carol says:

    Spring is the renewal from Winter. Flowers popping into view lifts my spirit, also being able to pack away weighty clothing. I do favor Fall though. Like Tori, there’s something about a cool snap in the air that sends me more often to the computer to write. My mind is fresher, not sluggish from the Summer heat.

    Liked by 2 people

  6. Jill James says:

    I love autumn. I love the cooler mornings to go for a walk. Opening the windows for fresh air. And for more writing since my brain isn’t fried from the summer heat.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I love autumn in the Pacific Northwest. The gorgeous leaves and even the winter rains inspire me to write more. By the way, I understand Big Tex is getting a new set of clothes this year. Wonder what his new outfit will look like!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Kristy Tate says:

    I love all the seasons, but I have to say Southern California is pretty boring weather-wise. When you live in cold weather country, it’s so exciting when the first crocus pokes out of the ground, or when you spot the first buds on a bare tree. We don’t really get that here. Trees and flowers bloom year round. I have to make pumpkin cookies to know it’s fall.

    Like

  9. Living most of my adult life in Southern California, it was always summer. So, I have an appreciation for all of the other seasons now that I have the chance to enjoy them. I am looking forward to the snow, assuming I can enjoy it from inside my house, with the fireplace going! 🙂

    Like

  10. Joan Reeves says:

    I’m not just looking forward to fall but to a new year. This year has been awful. *groan* Next year has to be better.

    Like

  11. E. Ayers says:

    I love fall and spring, but there’s something very special about fall. I just hate going from AC to heat on the same day! I like lots of days with neither one, warmish days and cool nights. Grab a blanket and snuggle in. Wear a sweater during the day.

    Like

Please Leave a Reply

