Sitting on the Porch by Pepper Phillips

P1000258One of the things that we do in the afternoons is wind down by sitting on the back porch. Sitting and rocking in one of the six rockers that grace the area.

I can’t explain how relaxing it is. To sit and rock. The birds come out to check the bird feeder. Some come every day. The two ground doves, the cardinals, the mockingbird, some who I don’t know the names of…

We have several squirrels that will come out and run up the side of the tree, then when the figs are ripening, they will jump from the pecan tree to the top of the fig tree and sit there, feasting on ripe figs. This year they ate more figs than I did! But to see them balancing on their hind feet, while gnawing on the fig they hold in their front paws as the wind hits them every few seconds is entertaining. They don’t let go of their treat.

Spider Lily

The Spider Lilys bloomed this week. These little beauties are leafless right now. Their leaves come out in the spring and gather their energy and then in the fall, the flowers come out. They do have a yellow/orange variety, but pink is all that I have in my yard.

Elvis and areaIn front of the dining room doors is my ‘quirky’ area. Elvis is the big rooster on the right. Named Elvis due to the sideburns. As you can see, Elvis has a ‘chick’ which I haven’t named as yet. Between them is a metal armadillo whose tail can move…my daughter thought I need one of those.

The gold Zen frog is something I picked up because it appealed to me, the three frogs were a gift from a son, the little hedgehog with a leaf design on it was too cute to pass up.

This little area in front of the fig tree makes me happy…and shouldn’t we all be happy in our surroundings?

So, I sit and rock. Soaking up nature in my own green haven. At peace with life…

If you went to experience one of my ‘quirky’ characters, try reading this…

Naomi Lemoine is delighted to learn that Ben Brouillette has retired to Boggy Bayou. She had a major crush on him in high school, but that was over forty years ago.

He was way out of her class then, but now? They teamed up to win the Egg Knocking contest in Boggy Bayou. The only problem is they have a nemesis who doesn’t want them to win.

Can they make it to the winning circle?

Can Naomi figure out why Ben is kissing her?

Does she even want to know? She doesn’t want the kisses to stop. Can her heart stand it if Ben realizes that she’s not what he deserves?

NHCover_glow2-1

 

Available at:  Amazon, B&N, iTunes and Kobo

 

About Pepper Phillips

Writer of Sassy Southern Romance Novels
This entry was posted in Pepper's Posts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Sitting on the Porch by Pepper Phillips

  1. leighmorgan1 says:

    Your yard and garden areas are lovely, Pepper. I love the quirky area by your fig tree…how fun. The spider lilies are gorgeous. I wonder if they grow in colder climates, I’d love to have some in my garden. Love your cover for Naomi’s Heart. Quirky characters are the best. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. susanrhughes says:

    I want to spend an afternoon in your yard. We have a little fairy garden that the girls made, but it’s become overgrown (like everything else).
    Naomi’s Heart is a lovely book.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Carol says:

    Your garden is lovely. So peaceful. Rocking chairs are the height of relaxation. I can think back on most of my relatives and remember rocking chairs on their porches. One instance I fondly remember is of my mother-in-law. When we visited Tennessee, she’d time our arrival with sitting in a rocker waiting for us to pull into the driveway. I can see her still today.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Joan Reeves says:

    Oh, the spider lilies make me homesick for Louisiana. They’re everywhere there and rarely seen anywhere else. Such a cute book cover and an older couple romance? I like that.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Thanks for the kind remarks about my yard. I felt I had to ‘spiff’ it up for the baby shower held here and I’m so glad I did. It’s easy to maintain and the patio has never looked better. It took a little time to set up, but well worth the time and effort. We sit out there most every day, the kids come and visit, when it’s hot we turn on the ceiling fans. it’s just so relaxing.

    The spider lilies are always a surprise. One day there’s nothing, the next morning they are up and blooming. What a delight!

    Like

    • E. Ayers says:

      I love spider lilies – I’ve got several of them (Zone 7) and I guess a hurricane gave me some pink naked ladies. It’s amazing what grows that we haven’t planted!

      Like

  6. monarisk says:

    These are pretty pictures, Pepper. Like you I used to rock on my swinging bench in my backyard after work when I still lived in a house. Like you I enjoyed watching the cardinals, the chipmunks and wild rabbits. So soothing. Now I sit on my balcony and watch the waves unfurl on the sand.

    Like

  7. E. Ayers says:

    I just want to know how you manage to keep the mosquitoes away? They love me!

    Like

Please Leave a Reply

