The Autumn of our Lives – Jill James

We are often told that age is just a number. That is easier said than done when your daughter will be 33 next month and your grandson (gasp!) will be 12…a hop, skip, and a jump from teenage-dom. How did that happen? LOL

GingerbreadGrandparentsThat the years are passing was brought forcefully home this week as we helped the mother-in-law to move grandma into an assisted-living facility. She turned 94 last month and broke her hip so it wasn’t a surprise so much, as a reminder that time ticks on, whether we want it to or not. My sister-in-law who was barely a teen when she was my Maid of Honor at my wedding will be 40 this year.

I remember when I turned 40 and being a published author seemed as out of reach as being chosen by NASA to be a Mars colonist. (secret fantasy!) I can still envision that younger me who thought she was so old that life had passed her by. I had been a daughter, a mother, and now a grandmother. When did I get ‘me time’? A few years after that my mother died at the age of 61. Talk about a shot to the gut! Not only was I now parentless because my father died a few years before that, but at 67 and 61 a long life did not seem written into my genes. I had dreams. Things I wanted to accomplish in this life.

So, no more wishful thinking. No more bucket list. If I want to write a children’s book and an erotic romance novel in the same year, I will. If I want to see how many books I can write in one year, I will go for it. If I want to climb a mountain, I will get in shape so I can. I will always grow older, year after year, but I don’t have to grow old.

Who’s with me??!!Ā  Jill, dreamer of dreams and writer of stories

About Jill James

Jill is a published author with The Wild Rose Press and self-published with The Lake Willowbee Series. She enjoys reading just as much as writing. You can follow her on Facebook http://www.facebook.com/Jill.James.author and Twitter @jill_james
This entry was posted in Jill's Posts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to The Autumn of our Lives – Jill James

  1. leighmorgan1 says:

    Reminds me of the Jimmy Buffett line, “Growing older but not up”. At every age, we owe it ourselves to be the best we can be.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. E. Ayers says:

    Oh, Jill, it’s so true. I have no clue who that woman is in the mirror because I’m not a day older than 45. As I told my daughter, I had her when I was two! šŸ™‚ I refuse to get old!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Carol says:

    I don’t recognize the lady in the mirror either. She slipped in while I wasn’t looking. I don’t really feel as old as the mirror reflects. Physically unable to do many of my bucket list dreams. No jumping out of a plane for me now! šŸ™‚

    Like

  4. Carol says:

    Lol Wonderful! What an exciting thing for the boyfriend to do. šŸ™‚ I’d give it a try, but not too sure how my hip replacement would fare. I no not want surgery again.

    Like

  5. stephaniequeen says:

    Love this post, Jill!! It really resonates with me! I think of myself as still in my prime–the summertime of life–until I get up from a chair after sitting for more than an hour and then it seems more like a two-step process than a fluid motion–eek!
    I’m jealous of your Aunt and her boyfriend–zip-lining is still on my bucket list!
    But at least publishing a novel or two is crossed off! (I’ve updated my list to publishing 100 novels and so I will need to live a long life!)

    Like

  6. susanrhughes says:

    For me, the worst part of getting older is watching my parents get even older. They are in great shape, but they won’t be around forever and I don’t know what I’d do without them.

    Like

  7. Getting older means making choices. I’m still trying to figure it all out.

    Like

  8. Joan Reeves says:

    The best thing about indie publishing is that you are the editorial director and decide what you will publish. Go for it. Write what drives your imagination.

    Like

  9. monarisk says:

    My mother told me once, “Don’t get old.” I asked, “What’s the alternative?” She said, “Stay young, meaning independent and healthy.”

    Like

Please Leave a Reply

