Spirit of the Season

While Americans are gearing up for Thanksgiving, up here in Canada we celebrated Thanksgiving last month. Now that Remembrance Day has also passed, our thoughts are turning to Christmas.

Could it be that Christmas is just over five weeks away? I would say the season sneaked up on me, but it’s impossible to miss the festive music and decorations that popped up in stores the moment the Halloween merchandise left the shelves. Santa is already taking gift requests at our local mall.

I can’t say I mind. I love everything about the atmosphere of the Christmas season. Nothing brings up warm feelings and wistful childhood memories like the traditional movies, TV shows and songs of the holidays. Here are some of my favourites:

Movies and TV Specials:

Charles Dickens’ A Christmas Carol is a quintessential holiday story that I have loved since I was a child.rich little

You’ll need the twelve days of Christmas (and then some) to watch every adaptation. I have special memories of the Rich Little TV version from 1978. Rich Little impersonates famous actors of the day playing the various roles in this cheesy but lovable production, complete with songs and a laugh track (of course you can watch it on YouTube if you’re curious). A piece of advice: no matter how much you may have loved Frasier (as I did), keep away from the Kelsey Grammar musical version of A Christmas Carol.charlie

In my house, the 2003 Will Ferrell movie Elf is an annual tradition. So are Dr. Seuss’ How the Grinch Stole Christmas and A Charlie Brown Christmas – who can resist that sad little tree?

Christmas Music:

By the time December 25th rolls around, the Christmas music piped into malls and grocery stores can begin to wear on your nerves. However, there are two traditional carols I never get tired of: Ave Maria and O Holy Night. Something about their melodies tugs at my emotions, and whenever I hear them sung with a pure voice, I’m nearly reduced to nata puddle on the floor.

Of course it wouldn’t be Christmas without classic modern songs like “The Christmas Song” or “Baby It’s Cold Outside” in their various renditions. Any holiday song performed by Nat King Cole, Frank Sinatra or Elvis Presley puts me in the spirit. More recent recordings (though they are a few decades old now) that get happily stuck in my head are Ppaulaul McCartney’s “Wonderful Christmastime”, Wham’s “Last Christmas” and Boney M.’s “Mary’s Boy Child”.

What movies, TV specials or songs puts you in the Christmas spirit?

About susanrhughes

Susan R. Hughes is a USA Today bestselling author of contemporary and historical romance. She lives in Ottawa, Ontario, with her husband and three children.
This entry was posted in Susan's Posts. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Spirit of the Season

  1. My youngest kid was six when the movie, The Santa Clause’ came out. It answered so many questions that he had. I told my oldest daughter (she’s twenty-five years older than him) about his reaction to the movie and thank heavens she was listening. Because he cornered her alone and began to grill her. She told me later that her mind was whirling while she answered his question, as she didn’t want to blow the illusions that Santa was real.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Last year, I became addicted to the Hallmark Channel and their Christmas movies. I don’t watch the channel any other time of the year, LOL. I am not even a HUGE Christmas person, so it’s a totally odd addiction for me. And by a HUGE Christmas person I just mean I go light on decorations, I don’t play Christmas Carols/Songs EVER – it’s actually the best way to get me out of a store having purchased only the thing I actually needed.Forget browsing the aisles, my ears burst! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. leighmorgan1 says:

    Love the Santa Clause with Tim Allen. I watch it with the kids every year. This year we’re also going to see, A Christmas Carol, at the Pabst Theater in Milwaukee where I used to go as a little girl with my grandma. It’s a beautiful old theater done in rich burgundy velvet and gold. Decorated for Christmas it’s just stunning. So looking forward to it and I’m so happy to be caring on the tradition with my own family. Christmas does seem to be a time for holiday traditions passed down and new ones being created. Can’t wait! I’m also incredibly pleased we’re re-releasing Christmas on Main Street with the new addition of Joan’s story. It’s shaping up to be an awesome season. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Joan Reeves says:

    I love Christmas music, movies, and decorating. I really love the Eagles’ Christmas song “Please Come Home for Christmas” and Wham’s “Last Christmas” along with all the traditional and other rock Christmas songs. Movies? I like them all from the tearjerkers like The Ultimate Gift and A Season of Miracles to the heartwarming Debbie Macomber Mrs. Miracle movies and the comedies like A Christmas Story with Ralphie and his Red Rider BB gun. Let the holidays begin!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Carol says:

    I love Christmas. There’s such a sweet feeling in the air. Music sets the mood and I have it playing most of the day, especially while we decorate the tree and wrap gifts. A Christmas Story is definitely a favorite in our house, along with It’s a Wonderful Life. We watch those two every year. Miracle on 34th Street is another great oldie. Yes, Christmas sneaked up on me again this year! Love the Christmas Holiday.

    Like

Please Leave a Reply

